Note:Your browser doesn't correctly display this page because of a bad stylesheets interpretation. This is probably due to an old browser version.

[Luxembourg 2005 Presidency of the Council of the European Union]
 Version française        

You are here : Home > About the EU > Candidate Countries
Print this page Send this page

Candidate Countries



Area: 110 993 km2
Population: 7 517 973
Capital: Sofia
Official language: Bulgarian
Currency: lev
National holiday:
3 March (independence in 1878)
Republic of Bulgaria
Parliamentary Republic.
Constitution of 1991
President: Georgi Puranov
Prime Minister: Simeon Saxe-Coburg Gotha
Minister for Foreign Affairs: Solomon Passy
National Assembly: 240 members elected by direct universal suffrage for four years.
Women in Parliament: 26.2%
Per capita GDP: EUR 6 078 (in purchasing power parities)


Area: 56 610 km2
Population: 4 496 869
Capital: Zagreb
Official language: Croat
Currency: kuna
National holiday: 25 June (declaration of independence in 1991)Republic of Croatia
Parliamentary Republic.
Constitution of 1990
President: Stipe Mesic
Prime Minister: Ivo Sanader
Minister for Foreign Affairs: Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic
Parliament (Sabor): 151 members elected for four years by universal suffrage.
Women in Parliament: 17.8%
Per capita GDP: EUR 8 777 (in purchasing power parities)


Area: 238 391 km2
Population: 22 355 551
Capital: Bucharest
Official language: Romanian
Currency: leu
National holiday: 1 December (Unification Day)
Republic of Romania
Parliamentary Republic. Semi-presidential system.
Constitution of 1991
President: Traian Basescu
Prime Minister: Calin Tariceanu
Minister for Foreign Affairs: Razvan Ungureanu
Chamber of Deputies: 345 members elected for four years by direct universal suffrage.
Senate: 140 members elected for four years
Women in Parliament: 10.7%
Per capita GDP: EUR 5 700 (in purchasing power parities)


Area: 769 604 km2
Population: 68 893 918
Capital: Ankara
Official language: Turkish
Currency: Turkish lira
National holiday: 29 October (independence in 1923)
Turkish Republic
Parliamentary Republic.
Constitution of 1982
President: Ahmet Necdet Sezer
Prime Minister: Recep Tayyip Erdogan
Minister for Foreign Affairs: Abdullah Gül
National Assembly: 550 members elected for five years by direct universal suffrage.
Women in Parliament: 4.4%
Per capita GDP: EUR 5 570 (in purchasing power parities)

Related links

*On this site


*On other sites

European Governments Online

This page was last modified on : 02-03-2005

Top Top