Note:Your browser doesn't correctly display this page because of a bad stylesheets interpretation. This is probably due to an old browser version.

[Luxembourg 2005 Presidency of the Council of the European Union]
 Version française        

You are here : Home > News > CFSP Statements > June 2005 > Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the presidential elections in Iran
Print this page Send this page

CFSP Statement
Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the presidential elections in Iran

Date of release : 27-06-2005

Policy area : General Affairs and External Relations

The European Union notes the results of the second round of the presidential elections in Iran, which saw Mr Mahmoud Ahmadinejad elected President of the Islamic Republic of Iran. Mr Ahmadinejad faces major challenges, both domestically and in matters of foreign policy.

The European Union notes the Interior Minister's statements on the unsatisfactory conduct of the presidential elections. It regrets the fact that a very large majority of candidates, including many reformists and all the women, were excluded from the elections, making a genuine democratic choice difficult for the Iranian people.

The European Union hopes that during Mr Ahmadinejad's presidency, Iran will meet all its international commitments and that it will, in particular,  continue the effective implementation of the Paris agreement of 15 November 2004. It confirms that the European Union is ready to continue looking into ways of further developing political and economic cooperation with Iran, in keeping with the measures which Iran will take to respond to EU concerns in connection with the nuclear programme, the fight against terrorism, human rights and Iran's approach to the Middle East peace process.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Country Croatia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro, EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia continues to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

This page was last modified on : 28-06-2005

Top Top