The Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2005

The Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2005

URL (Internet address) : http://www.eu2005.lu/en/presidence/membres/di_bartolomeo/

Back to the origin page

Mars Di Bartolomeo

Minister of Health
Minister of Social Security

Mars Di Bartolomeo was born on 27 June 1952 in Dudelange.

After his secondary education at the Lycée de garçons in Esch-sur-Alzette, he was a journalist at Tageblatt from 1972 to 1984.

Appointed Parliamentary Secretary of the LSAP (Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party) in 1984 to replace Robert Goebbels who had become a member of the Government, Mars Di Bartolomeo first stood for a seat in the municipal elections of 1987, when he was voted onto the Dudelange council. In the wake of this, he was elected to the Chamber of Deputies in 1989.

He was re-elected to the Chamber in 1994 and found himself promoted to Mayor of the town of Dudelange after the municipal elections in October 1993. He took office on 1 January 1994 and also retained the post after the October 1999 elections. Four months earlier, the voters in the South constituency gave him a third term of office in the Chamber of Deputies.

Mars Di Bartolomeo has published a tax guide in collaboration with Jeannot Krecké. He has also become deeply involved in social issues, the problems of economic diversification and the promotion of cultural activities in Luxembourg’s mining region.

From 2000, he fulfilled the role of chairman of the South constituency of the LSAP and was elected First Chairman of Pro-Sud, the association for the promotion of the south of Luxembourg.

Following the elections on 13 June 2004, Mars Di Bartolomeo was appointed Minister of Health and Minister of Social Security on 31 July 2004.


Last update of this page on : 29-12-2004

La Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l'Union européenne 2005

La Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l'Union européenne 2005

URL (adresse web) : http://www.eu2005.lu/fr/presidence/membres/di_bartolomeo/

Retour vers la page d'origine

Mars Di Bartolomeo

Ministre de la Santé et de la Sécurité sociale

Mars Di Bartolomeo est né le 27 juin 1952 à Dudelange.

Après des études secondaires au lycée de garçons d'Esch/Alzette, il entre comme journaliste au Tageblatt de 1972 à 1984.

Nommé secrétaire parlementaire du LSAP en 1984 pour succéder à Robert Goebbels, devenu membre du gouvernement, Mars Di Bartolomeo est d'abord candidat aux élections communales de 1987 - il est alors élu au conseil de Dudelange -, puis, dans la foulée, à la Chambre des députés en 1989.

Réélu en 1994 à la Chambre, il se voit propulsé bourgmestre de la Ville de Dudelange après les élections communales d'octobre 1993. Il entre en fonction le 1er janvier 1994, poste qu'il conserve également après les élections d'octobre 1999. Quatre mois plus tôt, les électeurs de la circonscription Sud lui donnent un troisième mandat à la Chambre des députés.

Mars Di Bartolomeo publie, en collaboration avec Jeannot Krecké, un guide fiscal. De plus, il s’implique avec conviction dans les questions sociales et dans les problèmes de la diversification économique ainsi que dans l'animation culturelle du bassin minier luxembourgeois.

À partir de 2000, il remplit les fonctions de président de la circonscription Sud du LSAP et est élu premier président du syndicat pour la promotion du Sud, le Prosud.

À l’issue des élections du 13 juin 2004, Mars Di Bartolomeo est nommé ministre de la Santé, ministre de la Sécurité sociale en date du 31 juillet 2004.


Dernière mise à jour de cette page le : 29-12-2004