Note:Your browser doesn't correctly display this page because of a bad stylesheets interpretation. This is probably due to an old browser version.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Presidency of the Council of the European Union]
  |  
 Version française        
 

You are here : Home > About Luxembourg > Society and Traditions > Luxembourgish ? Languages in Luxembourg
Print this page Send this page

Luxembourgish ? Languages in Luxembourg

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is one of those rare countries in the world where several languages are spoken and written throughout its territory and in different spheres of life - private, professional, social, cultural and political.

Luxembourgish, French, German
What languages for the state ?
What languages for school ?
In daily life, language is multi-coloured
Which language for the press
Luxembourg passport

Luxembourgish, French, German

Multilingualism has been legally defined since 1984 with Lëtzebuergesch as the national language, French as the language used for legislative matters, while French, German and Lëtzebuergesch all share the status of judiciary and administrative languages.

This trilingualism is a reality lived by about 290,000 native Luxembourg people. More recently, as a side effect of the outstanding economic growth and a policy of social promotion, the mother tongues of some 170,000 foreign nationals now living in Luxembourg, enrich the linguistic landscape of the Grand Duchy today.

In fact, as no language bears the status of the official language in the Grand Duchy, French, German and Lëtzebuergesch are omnipresent, at different degrees, and share the roles of language in the workplace, for publication and for communication, be it formal or informal.

What languages for the state?

Mémorial ,
ZoomMémorial

Laws are drafted in French and henceforth it is important to note that on the judicial level only the French language text is authentic, which is true for all levels of the public administration. On the other hand, spoken French has progressively vanished from Parliament, in spite of the fact that sometimes Deputies prefer French when making important declarations. In this official place no spoken language is clearly defined, and politicians choose the idiom corresponding  to their personal preferences.

The fact is that these days regular debates in Parliament are held in Lëtzebuergësch. The language borrows many words from French (de Congé pénal, en Débat an der Chamber ) and from German (d’Gleichberechtigung ).Hence, accounts of  public parliamentary sessions published in the daily newspapers illustrate the mix of languages: the debates are transcribed in Lëtzebuergësch (which represents the highest amount of regular written production in the vernacular), while questions to the Government as well as the legal texts are usually in French.

In order not to lose sight of the bigger picture, it is important to note that the law of February 1984  states that in administrative and judicial matters, "use may be made of French, German or Lëtzebuergësch". Citizens enjoy the right to choose a language when they make an administrative application, yet the Administration is not strictly bound to respect their preference.

Generally speaking, the weak presence of German at the national level of public life is counterbalanced by its strong presence at the local level, both spoken and written (publications from local councils). The manner in which the Luxembourg State is administered is based on a clear balance, preferring French in written texts and Lëtzebuergësch as the spoken language (in the workplace and for communication purposes).

This situation has however become standard practice at the highest level: in 1996, for the first time in the history of Luxembourg, Prime minister Jean-Claude Juncker delivered the annual "state of the nation address" in Lëtzebuergesch.

What languages for school?

Since the beginning of the waves of mass immigration, compulsory schooling has started at the age of four, while before children were sent to school at the age of five. This initiative, which was mainly launched in order to expose immigrant children to the Luxembourg language as early as possible, was supplemented by the implementation of a scheme offering preschool education to children from the age of three.

Ecole ,
ZoomEcole

While preschool education and during the two years of compulsory playschool, teachers use Lëtzebuergësch, in so far as possible, when speaking to their young pupils. The principal concern is to develop all the children’s linguistic abilities, particularly those of foreign pupils, for whom school often provides the first contact with the Luxembourg language.

Primary school introduces the other two languages. At the age of six children learn to read and write in German, considered to be the written version of Lëtzebuergesch. The following year they start learning French. The lingua franca of primary school education is German. However, depending on the composition of the class (the number of children from immigrant families), teachers speak German, sometimes Lëtzebuergesch or French.

In 1991, local schools began a programme offering some classes in Portuguese and Italian, studied two hours a week. Since then, these courses, run in parallel to the official curriculum, have been replaced by integrated mother-tongue courses at the primary school level. They give children the opportunity to develop their native language by maintaining contact with their own culture. Subjects appearing in the official curriculum are taught in Italian or Portuguese during two lessons a week.

During the first years of secondary education, most classes are taught in German. Then the lingua franca for all subjects other than language courses becomes French in grammar schools, while German prevails in comprehensive schools.

The recent University of Luxembourg, created by the law of 12 August 2003, replacing a certain number of post-secondary education schemes, like the Centre Universitaire, also operates along the lines of multilingualism: among the university’s fundamental principles figures the "multilingual character of its teaching". Numerous Luxembourg students continue to go to universities abroad, be it in German-, French- or English-speaking countries: theoretically no linguistic border can stop them.

Last but not least, the foreign schools in Luxembourg - French, British, international - account for 7% of pupils. In these private schools, where high tuition fees reserve entry to the wealthier classes of the population,  French and English are the dominant languages, even though German and Lëtzebuergesch courses are mostly on offer as well.

In daily life, language is multi-coloured

Shopping ,
ZoomShopping

For a Luxembourg person to be spending an entire day speaking just one language would be a first! Similarly, among foreigners, all generations considered, how many of them could survive on their mother tongue alone? In the land of mixed marriages, the following figures provide some of the answers:

  • 17% of residents speak more than one language with their children,
  • 53% speak more than one language with their friends,
  • 56% speak more than one language in their workplace.

There is no doubting the fact that everybody chooses different linguistic paths in their daily lives. Today, linguistic variation blends together and is superimposed: people speak more and more languages in more and more varied places. The juxtaposed bilingualism of times past has been replaced by a superimposed multilingualism: now the same people juggle with different languages according to place, time and circumstance.

Regional differences also come into play as well. From a statistical point of view, Lëtzebuergësch is used 45% of the time in the Capital, 54% in the remainder of the central part of the country and 68% in the north. Farmers use Lëtzebuergësch without exception as their working language, the figure amounting to 75% among teachers. For workers without any professional training, French dominates, with 46%.

So languages tolerate one another, come close without jealousy, borrow from each other and lend to each other with no false modesty. This phenomenon appears, in particular, in code mixing, an art in which Luxembourg people excel, borrowing an idiom from one language, while loaning an expression from another. These are methods of communication in their own right.

Is the country saturated by languages? On the contrary, it has even allowed many others, such as English, Italian and Portuguese, to become established.

In the financial market place, in trade and in industry, English may unite the different nationalities working together, even though a third of the banks in the capital are German and, for several years now, French-speaking cross-border workers have been leaving their mark on the Luxembourg labour market.

Coming across English in an evening dress is no surprise when you consider the sizable international community in the capital enjoying the nightlife. Whether they are from Iceland, the United States, Scandinavia, Asia or from Slavic countries, English is the preferred language in all their relationships.

The larger immigrant groups - Italian, Spanish, Portuguese - become apparent by the considerable number of meeting places which exist in Luxembourg (associations and clubs, bars, restaurants, etc.), as well as by the use of their respective mother tongues in their different workplaces (especially in the building sector, the hotel business and the cleaning sector).

As far as French is concerned, it puts on an unusual face. It is not exactly the French language from France because the influences of Belgian Walloon are rather strong. But examples of that influence are extremely subtle. When Luxembourg people have to speak in French, they are very conscious of grammatical rules, a remnant of strict teaching in school. They speak a careful and formal kind of French, sometimes too correct, which runs wild only when penned by poets and authors, or when spoken by younger generations.

Which language for the press ?

The Written Press

Presse luxembourgeoise ,
ZoomPresse luxembourgeoise

The Luxembourg press has always been polyglot. Although, in general, German is dominant (just as French is the dominant language of administration), no journalist  has a problem slipping into an article written in German an extract from a law drafted in French, and the reader is in no way upset by this either. If, as a foreigner, the reader wants to comprehend all the daily newspapers he or she must master both languages. It might be that an article on international politics appears in one language today and another tomorrow: there is no fixed rule.

That also applies to the language in which journalists choose to express themselves. Most of them use only one language. The choice sometimes depends on the country in which the writer was educated, and sometimes on the subject treated: those who write about domestic politics and local news generally prefer German, and those dealing with economy or culture often opt for French. The target readership also plays a role in the choice of idiom: given that weeklies are aimed at the family, German is appropriate for them. Nevertheless, the use of language is undergoing changes, both in daily life and in the media.

Television

Since 1991, Lëtzebuergësch has gained significant ground on television after the launch of a daily news-programme. Twelve years later, its simultaneous translation into French offers a choice to viewers and demonstrates a considerable flexibility towards French-speakers.

On the Radio

This is the medium where Lëtzebuergësch is most used. Of course, the national and local Luxembourg radio stations enjoy the highest ratings. These results combined with the success of the television news programme underline the emotional importance which Luxembourg people attach to their mother tongue.

Moreover, immigrant communities are not ignored. Apart from the fact that the main radio stations from the neighbouring countries are available, English and the Romance languages, inter alia, have enjoyed a daily presence on the Luxembourg radio waves for several years.

Luxembourg Passport

Surname:
Frankish-Moselle dialect from the East

Forename:
Lëtzebuergesch

Visas:

  • Germany (the "platt" of the Saarland)
  • France (the "platt" of Thionville)
  • Belgium (dialects of the border zone)

Particular features: a language which borrows from others

  • German: Familjebuch, etc.
  • English: weekend, back-office, etc.
  • French: plus ou moins, à peu près, etc.


Related links



This page was last modified on : 29-12-2004

Top Top

Note: Votre navigateur n'affiche pas correctement ce site parce qu'il s'agit d'une version relativement ancienne d'un navigateur ou parce qu'il ne respecte pas les standards généralement préconisés pour les pages web. Pour en savoir plus lisez nos notes de conception.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Présidence du Conseil de l'Union européenne]
  |  
 English version        
 

Chemin de navigation : Accueil > Tout savoir sur le Luxembourg > Société et tradition > "Lëtzebuergesch?" L'emploi des langues au Luxembourg
Imprimer cette page Envoyer cette page

"Lëtzebuergesch?" L'emploi des langues au Luxembourg

Rares sont les pays du monde où, comme au Luxembourg, la population utilise, sur tout le territoire et dans différents domaines de la vie privée, professionnelle, sociale, culturelle et politique, plusieurs langues, écrites et orales.

Luxembourgeois, français, allemand
Quelles langues pour l'État?
Quelles langues pour l'école?
Quelle langue au quotidien?
Quelle langue dans la presse?
Passeport pour le luxembourgeois

Luxembourgeois, français, allemand

Le multilinguisme se trouve inscrit dans la loi depuis 1984: le luxembourgeois "Lëtzebuergesch" y est défini comme langue nationale, le français comme langue de la législation, alors que le français, l'allemand et le luxembourgeois ont en commun le statut de langues administratives et judiciaires.

Ce trilinguisme est essentiellement le fait des Luxembourgeois de souche, environ 290.000 personnes. Sont venus s’y ajouter plus récemment, sous l’effet d’une remarquable croissance économique et d’une politique de promotion sociale, les langues maternelles des quelque 170.000 résidents étrangers que le territoire accueille aujourd’hui.

Comme aucune langue ne possède le statut de langue officielle du Grand-Duché, le français, l’allemand et le luxembourgeois sont partout présents à des degrés différents et se partagent les rôles de langue de travail, de rédaction, de communication formelle et informelle.

Quelles langues pour l’État ?

Mémorial ,
ZoomMémorial

Les actes législatifs sont rédigés en français et, conséquence importante sur le plan juridique, seule la "langue française fait foi" à tous les niveaux de l’administration publique. En revanche, le français parlé a peu à peu disparu de l'enceinte du Parlement, même si, parfois, il est encore préféré au luxembourgeois par les ministres lors de leurs grandes déclarations. En ce lieu très officiel, la langue d'expression n'est pas formellement arrêtée et, dans une certaine mesure, ce contexte laisse le champ libre aux préférences personnelles des femmes et des hommes politiques.

Il est un fait qu'aujourd'hui les débats réguliers se font en luxembourgeois. À cette occasion, la langue emprunte bon nombre de termes au français (de Congé Pénal, en Débat an der Chamber), et à l’allemand (d’Gleichberechtigung). Ainsi, le compte rendu des séances publiques de la Chambre des députés, inclus dans les quotidiens luxembourgeois, illustre le savant mélange de langues : les débats sont transcrits en luxembourgeois (ce qui constitue la plus volumineuse production écrite régulière dans cette langue), les questions au gouvernement et les textes de lois le sont habituellement en français.

Pour ne pas y perdre son latin, il faut savoir qu’en matière administrative et judiciaire, selon la loi de février 1984, "il peut être fait usage des langues française, allemande ou luxembourgeoise". Le citoyen dispose de ce même choix pour formuler ses requêtes administratives sans pour autant que l’administration soit rigoureusement tenue de respecter sa préférence.

Dans l’ensemble, la faible présence de l’allemand au niveau de la vie publique nationale trouve un certain contrepoids au plan communal, tant à l’oral qu’à l’écrit (publications des Conseils communaux). Le fonctionnement de l’administration de l’État luxembourgeois repose sur un solide équilibre, celui qui privilégie le français comme langue écrite et le luxembourgeois comme langue orale (pour le travail et la communication).

Cette situation est désormais entrée dans les mœurs au plus haut niveau: ainsi, en 1996, le Premier ministre Jean-Claude Juncker, a pour la première fois prononcé le discours annuel sur l’Etat de la nation en lëtzebuergesch.

Quelles langues pour l’école ?

Depuis les années d’immigration massive, l’âge de l’obligation scolaire a été avancé à quatre ans, alors qu’il était de cinq ans auparavant. Cette initiative, visant essentiellement à exposer les enfants de l’immigration le plus tôt possible à la langue luxembourgeoise, a été complétée par le dispositif de l’éducation précoce qui accueille désormais les enfants dès l’âge de trois ans.

Ecole ,
ZoomEcole

Au cours de l’éducation précoce et durant les deux années obligatoires de l’enseignement préscolaire les enseignant(e)s parlent autant que possible le luxembourgeois avec leurs jeunes élèves. La préoccupation première est de développer les capacités langagières de tous les enfants, et en particulier des jeunes d’origine étrangère pour qui l’école est souvent le premier lieu d’exposition à la langue luxembourgeoise.

Les classes du primaire introduisent les langues secondes. A l’âge de six ans, les enfants apprennent à lire et à écrire en allemand, assimilé comme la version écrite du lëtzebuergesch. L’année suivante, ils commencent l'apprentissage du français. La langue véhiculaire de l’enseignement primaire est l’allemand. Cependant, selon la composition des classes (importante proportion d’enfants nés de familles immigrées), les enseignants sont parfois amenés à alterner l’allemand avec le luxembourgeois et le français.

En 1991, des cours en portugais et en italien ont été introduits dans les écoles communales. Depuis, ces cours, parallèles au programme officiel, ont été remplacés par des cours intégrés en langue maternelle dans l’enseignement primaire. Ils donnent aux enfants l’occasion de développer leur langue maternelle tout en gardant le contact avec leur culture d’origine. Il s’agit de matières figurant au programme officiel enseignées en italien ou en portugais, à raison de deux leçons par semaine.

Au cours des premières années de l’enseignement secondaire, la plupart des matières sont étudiées en allemand. Puis la langue véhiculaire pour toutes les matières autres que les cours de langue, devient le français dans l’enseignement secondaire classique, tandis que l'allemand demeure prédominant en section technique.

La jeune Université du Luxembourg, créée par la loi du 12 août 2003 et remplaçant un certain nombre de structures post-secondaires dont le Centre Universitaire, est également placée sous le signe du multilinguisme: parmi les principes fondamentaux de l’université figure le "caractère multilingue de son enseignement". Nombreux sont les étudiants luxembourgeois qui continuent de fréquenter les établissements universitaires à l’étranger, que ce soit dans les pays germanophones, francophones ou anglophones: aucune frontière linguistique ne peut théoriquement les arrêter!

Enfin, quelques écoles étrangères - française, britannique, internationale - au Luxembourg rassemblent environ 7% des enfants scolarisés. Dans ces établissements privés, que l’accès payant réserve principalement aux couches aisées de la population, le français et l’anglais sont souverains, même si une certaine place est toujours faite à l’enseignement de l’allemand, voire du luxembourgeois.

Quelle langue au quotidien ?

Shopping ,
ZoomShopping

Un Luxembourgeois qui parviendrait à passer une journée totalement monolingue réaliserait sans doute un exploit! De même, parmi les étrangers, toutes générations confondues, combien peuvent survivre sans autre langue que leur langue maternelle? Au royaume des mariages mixtes, ces quelques chiffres apportent des éléments de réponse:

  • 17% des résidents parlent plus d’une langue avec leurs enfants.
  • 53% parlent plus d’une langue avec leurs amis.
  • 56% parlent plus d’une langue au travail.

Incontestablement, le moindre geste de la vie quotidienne amène tout un chacun à emprunter différents chemins linguistiques. Aujourd’hui, les balises colorées se mélangent et se superposent : on parle de plus en plus de langues dans des endroits de plus en plus variés. Le bilinguisme juxtaposé de jadis a fait place à un multilinguisme superposé: ce sont les mêmes personnes qui jonglent avec des langues différentes en fonction des moments de la journée et des circonstances.

Des différences régionales entrent également en jeu. D’un point de vue statistique, le luxembourgeois est utilisé à 45% dans la capitale, à 54% dans le reste de la région du centre et à 68% dans le Nord. Les agriculteurs utilisent tous sans exception le lëtzebuergesch comme langue de travail, ce chiffre passe à 75% chez le personnel enseignant. Pour les travailleurs sans formation qualifiée, c’est le français qui domine avec 46%.

De ce fait, les langues se tolèrent les unes les autres, se côtoient sans jalousie, s’empruntent et se prêtent les unes aux autres sans fausse modestie. Cela se manifeste notamment dans l’alternance des langues, un art dans lequel les Luxembourgeois excellent, empruntant tantôt une idée à une langue, une expression à une autre. Une technique de communication à part entière!

Un pays saturé de langues? Bien au contraire, le terrain a permis à bien d’autres - l’anglais, l’italien, le portugais - de s’y faire une place remarquable

Sur la place bancaire, dans le commerce et l’industrie, l’anglais peut rassembler les différentes nationalités qui travaillent côte à côte, même si un tiers des banques qui siègent dans la capitale sont allemandes et si, depuis plusieurs années déjà, les travailleurs frontaliers francophones marquent de leur empreinte le marché du travail luxembourgeois.

Rencontrer l’anglais en tenue de soirée ? Rien d’étonnant compte-tenu de l’importante communauté internationale de la capitale qui fréquente les lieux de distraction nocturne. Qu’ils soient Islandais, Américains, Scandinaves, Asiatiques ou Slaves, pour se rencontrer comme pour travailler, l’anglais demeure la langue privilégiée dans leurs rapports.

Les grandes communautés immigrées - italiennes, espagnoles, portugaises - se signalent par l’existence d’un grand nombre de lieux de rencontre (associations, amicales, cafés et restaurants, etc.), ainsi que par la pratique fréquente de leur langue maternelle sur les lieux de travail (surtout dans les secteurs du bâtiment, de l’hôtellerie et du nettoyage).

Le français, quant à lui, présente des signes particuliers. Il peut ne pas être tout à fait identique à celui de l’Hexagone, car les influences du français de Wallonie (Belgique) peuvent être relativement fortes. Les exemples de cette influence restent cependant délicats à détecter. Lorsqu'ils doivent s'exprimer en français, les Luxembourgeois demeurent très soucieux de grammaticalité, marqués par le souvenir d’un apprentissage rigoureux à l’école. On découvre un français emprunt de prudence, de formalité, parfois même d’hypercorrection, qui ne se dévergonde que sous la plume des poètes et écrivains, ou dans la bouche des jeunes générations.

Quelle langue dans la presse ?

La presse écrite

Presse luxembourgeoise ,
ZoomPresse luxembourgeoise

La presse luxembourgeoise a toujours été polyglotte. Bien qu’en général, l’allemand y domine (tout comme le français domine dans les administrations), aucun journaliste ne verra d’inconvénient à glisser dans un article rédigé en allemand un extrait d’un projet de loi en français - et le lecteur ne s’en offusquera pas. Si, en tant qu’étranger, le lecteur tient à lire tous les quotidiens, il a intérêt à maîtriser au moins ces deux langues. Il se peut qu’un article sur un sujet d’actualité internationale paraisse aujourd’hui dans une langue et le lendemain dans l’autre - aucune règle ne régit cette pratique.

Ceci vaut également pour la langue dans laquelle les journalistes choisissent de s’exprimer. Certains - une minorité - se servent de plus d’un idiome. Le choix se porte parfois selon le pays dans lequel les auteurs ont été formés, et parfois selon le thème abordé : ceux qui couvrent la politique intérieure et l’actualité locale préfèrent généralement l’allemand, ceux qui traitent des questions économiques ou culturelles optent le plus souvent pour le français. Le lectorat ciblé joue lui aussi un rôle dans le choix de l’idiome: des hebdomadaires qui s’adressent plutôt à la famille s’expriment de préférence en allemand. Néanmoins, l’usage des langues est en pleine mutation, tant au quotidien que dans la presse.

La télévision

Depuis 1991, le luxembourgeois a conquis sa place d’honneur sur le petit écran avec le lancement d’un journal télévisé quotidien. Une dizaine d’années plus tard, sa traduction simultanée en version française offre un choix de langue aux téléspectateurs et marque l’effort d’ouverture vers les francophones.

La radio

C’est le média où l'offre de programmes en langue luxembourgeoise est la plus riche. Naturellement, les stations luxembourgeoises, nationales et locales réalisent les plus forts taux d'écoute. Combinés au succès du journal télévisé, ces résultats mettent en exergue l’importance affective que les Luxembourgeois accordent à leur langue.

Par ailleurs, les communautés immigrées ne sont pas laissées pour compte. En effet, outre le fait que les grandes stations des pays frontaliers sont accessibles à leurs ressortissants, les langues romanes et l’anglais, entre autres, sont quotidiennement présentes sur les ondes luxembourgeoises depuis plusieurs années.

Passeport pour le luxembourgeois

Nom de famille:
Dialecte francique mosellan de l’ouest

Prénom:
Lëtzebuergesch

Visas:
- Allemagne (le "platt" de la Sarre)
- France (le "platt" de Thionville)
- Belgique (dialectes de la zone frontalière)

Signes particuliers: langue emprunteuse
- à l’allemand: Familjebuch, etc.
- à l’anglais:week-end, back-office, etc.
- au français: plus ou moins, à peu près, etc.


A ce sujet ...



Dernière mise à jour de cette page le : 29-12-2004

Haut de page Haut de page