Note:Your browser doesn't correctly display this page because of a bad stylesheets interpretation. This is probably due to an old browser version.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Presidency of the Council of the European Union]
  |  
 Version française        
 

You are here : Home > About Luxembourg > Society and Traditions > Being a Luxembourger
Print this page Send this page

Being a Luxembourger

Desperately seeking consensus

Fête nationale ,
ZoomFête nationale

They are not very numerous. This is the main thing everybody knows about them. They are not numerous, yet their country is the European Union member state that has enjoyed the strongest demographic development in recent years. (A touch of paradox characterises the local gastronomy.) There has been no spectacular baby boom resulting from a power-cut to overstretch the local maternity wards, nor a new tax-incentive to have a third child, but reinforcements quite simply keep arriving from countries near and far. Not numerous - which makes them scarce. More pointedly, you might say: Luxembourgers have scarcity value, which might explain their reputation for affluence. Roughly, they might be described as "not numerous, but affluent". Hardly surprising, since the poor have always outnumbered the rich.

How are we to explain the steady increase in the population if we take into consideration the mathematical principle which states that the greater the number of parts, the finer the parts? Let us solve the mystery with the help of the above-mentioned paradox. Assuming that the cliché "scarcity value" has any meaning, it would certainly not be sufficient to explain, even sketchily, the special features of a population attached to its traditions - its identity and its language - but induced, not always willingly, to melt into a world where globalisation and attempts at standardisation leave little room for exceptions, erase peculiarities, ignore susceptibilities and despise the small. It cannot be denied, even though it is not exactly moral, that you tend to stand out more if you take up all the room, and you find it easier to be recognized if you put the others in the shade, and certainly easier to assert yourself if you are stronger.

True to their motto: "we want to stay as we are", Luxembourgers continue to insist on distinguishing themselves by not being like the others, while nevertheless being close to the others. Neither exactly the same, nor completely different, they place themselves between the two extremes of either combining all the faults of other Europeans, which would be a nightmare, or combining all their positive attributes, which would be a bad dream. And since the positive attributes of the one are considered to be faults by the others (and vice versa), making a synthesis impossible, any wish to make homo luxemburgensis a prototype of homo europaeus will prove illusory.

So is it sensible to attempt to sketch the main personality traits of a people without resorting to a catalogue of ridiculous and dangerous prejudices? From "proud Spaniard", "efficient German", "charming Italian", "jovial Belgian", "romantic Frenchman", "stolid Englishman" ... it is easy to slip into "greasy dago", "cruel Hun", "slippery Itie", "boring Belgian", "filthy frog" and "bloody limey". If the same exercise is difficult to carry out on Luxembourgers, and if they receive neither praise nor insult, it is because their history has never given them the power to leave a flattering imprint on their neighbours’ collective memory, not even by force. By the same token, they have never provoked their neighbours into feeling resentful enough to come up with a doubtful image. Thus, no decisions having been taken, one can now risk taking the decision to sketch the outlines of a typical Luxembourger.

Victor Goethe or Wolfgang von Hugo?

A glance at the map indicates that Luxembourgers live between France and Germany, on the border between the Romanic and Germanic worlds. This situation has clearly influenced the history of their country, an eventful and turbulent history which determined today’s reality (here as elsewhere). The period when they were a fortress under the control of a succession of foreign powers has endowed Luxembourgers with an astonishing adaptability and a fierce determination to maintain their independence. They have also carried over from those times a practical sense - one could even call it common sense - which has led them into an almost obsessive search for consensus.

One tangible indicator of this inborn sense of compromise can be discerned in Luxembourgers’ names. Situated as they are between their German cousins and their French neighbours, they have French first names and German-sounding family names. The first name is generally Jacques (this is an example - not everyone is called Jacques) and the family name is Schneider (this is also an example - some call themselves Schmit). So as not to fall into the trap of over-simplification (French first name, German family name, which might seem to lack originality), Luxembourgers tend to turn their first names into typically Luxembourg diminutive forms. Charles becomes Charel (which, admittedly, is not really shorter), Henry becomes Heng, Jean-Pierre becomes Jhemp, Émile becomes Mill, Pierre becomes Pit ...

Fontaine Michel Rodange ,
ZoomFontaine Michel Rodange

These are masculine examples, but women are not spared. Some parents make an effort to give their babies monosyllablic first names which cannot be shortened, just to be different. On encountering a Guy, Marc or Luc, one can deduce that their parents are real characters. The rules have occasionally been broken recently, and marriages between local people and immigrants, or between Luxembourgers old and new produce quite amazing mixtures, such as Julia Suarez-Schmit, Roby Müller-Trippollini, or Bern Ogasaka-Schneider. Not everyone in Britain is a Smith or a Jones, so why should Luxembourgers all be called Jacques Schneider? Then, of course, the insidious influence of screens both large and small can be felt here just as it is elsewhere, so there is no shortage of little Kevins and charming Zeldas.

Justifiably proud of being multilingual, Luxembourgers read (if they read them at all) Goethe and Hugo in their respective languages. They may even manage to appreciate Shakespeare in English, and naturally devour Michel Rodange, the national poet, in Lëtzebuergesch. This ability to enjoy the classics in the original language does not mean that Luxembourgers have no particular preferences. As a general rule, they like to nod off with the help of German TV channels, doze through American films, leaf distractedly through newspapers in German, listen enthusiastically to Radio Luxembourg, stroll melancholically along Belgian beaches, and are gluttons when it comes to French cuisine. They like to point out that the Luxembourg cuisine combines French quality with German quantity. They are absolutely convinced that neither the quality of the one, nor the quantity of the other can hold a candle to Luxembourg "qualantity".

When torn between France and Germany in international football matches, Luxembourgers simply support the winning side. This is not opportunism, but common sense. If the football club in Metz enjoys a good season, spectators from Luxembourg fill the stands at the Saint-Symphorien ground. If Metz languishes at the bottom of the table, they flock to Kaiserslautern. The same goes for politics in neighbouring countries. If a party close to their hearts gains the upper hand in France, they show increased interest in what is going on in that country. If that party is defeated in France, but a similar one wins on the other side of the Moselle, then Luxembourgers focus their attention on the Reichstag.

Now that the construction of a new Europe has eliminated the danger of a conflict occurring in this part of the old continent, there is no need to set Hugo against Goethe. However, it would be a mistake to reduce external influences to the two larger neighbours and forget the importance of their close relatives in Belgium. Luxembourgers are aware that across the border the inhabitants of the Belgian Province of Luxembourg call themselves Luxembourgers and refer to them, the real article, as "Grand Ducals". Even though they may like the beaches of the North Sea, admire Belgian universities, which they attend in large numbers, enjoy the astonishing beers that compete with their own, the Luxembourgers are just a little irritated when cars with red number-plates clutter up their roads at certain times of the year. They can get even more agitated every November eleventh (Armistice Day), when French motorists join Belgian ones in causing a complete snarl-up in the capital.

Luxembourgers naturally like their country to be appreciated and visited by tourists willing to part with money, but they really cannot stand it if these visitors hinder their own freedom of movement, because their love affair with the car is so exclusive that it leaves no room for rivals.

Cars are not produced in Luxembourg. On the other hand, plenty of them are bought here. Statistics show that there is more than one car per head. Every person therefore has at least one car, sometimes two, or even three (fortunately, they rarely drive them simultaneously), in a country measuring less than 100 kilometres from north to south and about fifty from east to west (or rather from west to east). The lack of domestic production leaves the buyers’ choice wide open. Chauvinism is not involved, but there are marked habits.

Trasport de voitures ,
ZoomTrasport de voitures

During the Autofestival, the showrooms are stormed by hordes of aficionados excited by the tempting new models. Although comparable phenomena can be observed in Paris, Milan or Geneva, when two million people visit the biennial show in Paris, that represents no more than a sixtieth of the French population per year. In contrast, more than 7,000 Luxembourgers run their hands over the curvaceous bodywork of the latest models from wherever, and wish to own them, especially top-of-the-range vehicles. This explains why the parking spaces, which are based on foreign standards, are rather small for the cars found here. There are said to be dozens of Ferraris registered in the Grand Duchy, but one does not get to see them. Their owners prefer to use them abroad, undoubtedly for reasons of discretion. If one wishes to have a more beautiful, sizeable and up-to-date car than one’s neighbours, one avoids any sort of arrogant behaviour, as this is "not done". Here as elsewhere, cars are visible signs of social success. However, there is less ostentation here. The acquisition of a new car may occasion a Sunday drive along the banks of the Moselle, but this is the only departure from the traditional and necessary modesty. Otherwise, Luxembourgers avoid showing off, moving house, creating a scandal, making waves, or producing any kind of turbulence. They do not aspire to be anywhere near the centre, but rather somewhere in-between.

Complicated complex

If you do not want to end your friendship with Luxembourgers, there is one blunder you should not commit: criticizing them as they criticize themselves. As amateurs of satire, biting irony, dirty tricks and leg-pulling, Luxembourgers crowd into cabarets where their bad habits and minor faults are paraded before their eyes. They do not spare themselves, but the right of ridicule is their own preserve, because the prejudices about their country that are often aired abroad irritate or even infuriate them. Nourished by a distressing ignorance of Luxembourg reality, some unjust comments spread by media not subject to proper editorial control can induce complexes.

Towards outsiders, Luxembourgers claim to be multilingual; within their own walls, they complain of being zero-lingual. Having a mother tongue limited to a few hundred thousand speakers, they are obliged to communicate with the rest of the world using borrowed languages. This leads to some embarrassment and an astonishing anxiety about speaking in public, which may explain the modesty or even diffidence of many Luxembourgers. "Audacity" and "ambition" seem a little offensive. Vaunting your merits, asserting your talents, praising your good qualities ... these are things that are not appreciated here. The expression en bon père de famille (in good household manner), which is to be found in so many contracts and legal texts, really applies to every sphere of life. But even though  they call themselves "small", this does not imply that they want to hear it from others. Besides, isn’t the duchy itself Grand?

Different without differing

It is impossible not to fall into the trap. Reading through what has been written here might lead to the impression that Luxembourgers are like this or like that. It would be easy to find examples proving exactly the reverse. In fact, the opening up of the country, the diversity of its multicultural society, regional differences, or local peculiarities all make this community into an extremely rich, multicultural society. The language itself varies according to whether people are from the north or south, both in terms of accent and vocabulary. Separated by only a few kilometres, the inhabitants of the Moselle region and the capital discern particularities beyond possible observation. The people of Oesling consider themselves more genial, those from Minette more unpretentious, those of the capital more up-to-date. The same surely goes for larger and more populous countries. We could add that many Luxembourgers have dark complexions. Or even downright black. Or have slitted eyes.

What is it that strongly unites them even when not alike? It is the certainty that they are simultaneously citizens of the world, convinced Europeans, and independent Luxembourgers. Thanks to this conviction, Luxembourgers are in no danger of disappearing. But it is also what makes it so difficult to observe them in their natural surroundings!

(Text: Claude Frisoni)



This page was last modified on : 29-12-2004

Top Top

Note: Votre navigateur n'affiche pas correctement ce site parce qu'il s'agit d'une version relativement ancienne d'un navigateur ou parce qu'il ne respecte pas les standards généralement préconisés pour les pages web. Pour en savoir plus lisez nos notes de conception.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Présidence du Conseil de l'Union européenne]
 English version        
 

Chemin de navigation : Accueil > Tout savoir sur le Luxembourg > Société et tradition > Être Luxembourgeois
Imprimer cette page Envoyer cette page

Être Luxembourgeois

À la recherche obsessionnelle du consensus

Fête nationale ,
ZoomFête nationale

Ils sont peu nombreux. C’est sans doute l’essentiel de ce qu’on sait d’eux, ailleurs. Ils sont peu nombreux, et pourtant leur pays est le membre de l’Union européenne qui a connu la plus forte croissance démographique ces dernières années (oui, le goût du paradoxe fait partie de la gastronomie locale). Non pas qu’un baby boom spectaculaire ait provoqué des embouteillages dans les maternités locales, suite à une panne d’électricité ou à une nouvelle prime au troisième enfant, mais plus simplement parce que des renforts arrivent régulièrement de pays plus ou moins voisins. Peu nombreux, donc rares. Un fameux syllogisme ajouterait: rares donc chers. Ce qui explique peut-être leur réputation de richesse. Vus de loin, les habitants du Grand-Duché sont peut-être décrits aussi sommairement: peu nombreux mais riches. Ce qui ne devrait pas surprendre, car le monde est ainsi fait que, depuis des millénaires, il y a plus de pauvres que de riches.

Comment expliquer alors l’accroissement constant de la population, si l’on considère le principe mathématique qui veut que plus le nombre de parts est grand, plus les parts sont fines? Mettons ce mystère sur le dos du goût du paradoxe évoqué plus haut. Admettons que le cliché "rares et chers" ait quelques fondements, il ne suffirait certainement pas à décrire, même sommairement, les spécificités d’une population attachée à ses traditions, en tout premier lieu à sa personnalité et à sa langue, mais amenée, souvent de gré parfois de force, à se fondre dans un monde où le gigantisme et les tentations de standardisation laissent peu de place aux exceptions, gomment les singularités, négligent les susceptibilités ou méprisent les petits. Il est, c’est indiscutable quoique peu moral, plus facile d’être remarquable quand on prend toute la place, plus aisé d’être reconnu quand on fait de l’ombre aux autres et bien sûr plus commode de s’imposer quand on est plus fort.

Fidèles à leur devise qui affirme: "nous voulons rester ce que nous sommes", les Luxembourgeois continuent donc à s’entêter à se distinguer en n’étant pas tout à fait comme les autres; tout en étant si proches des autres. Ni tout à fait semblables, ni tout à fait différents, ils se situent entre deux extrêmes: réunir tous les défauts des autres Européens, ce qui serait un cauchemar. Ou bien réunir toutes leurs qualités, ce qui serait un mauvais rêve. Et, comme les qualités des uns sont considérées comme des défauts par les autres (et vice-versa), toute synthèse s’avérant impossible, il est illusoire de vouloir faire de l’homo luxemburgus un prototype de l’homo europeanus.

Est-il d’ailleurs raisonnable de tenter de tracer les grandes lignes de la personnalité d’un peuple sans tomber dans un catalogue de préjugés ridicules et dangereux? De "fier Espagnol", "rigoureux Allemand", "charmeur Italien", "jovial Belge", "galant Français", "flegmatique Anglais"... on glisse si vite à "espingo prétentieux", "teuton brutal", "rital roublard", "belgo lourdingue", "franchouillard crâneur" ou "rosbif archaïque". Si le même exercice se révèle difficile s’agissant des Luxembourgeois, si on ne les gratifie pas plus d’un qualificatif élogieux qu’on ne les affuble d’un quolibet péjoratif, c’est qu’ils n’ont pas eu, au cours de l’histoire, la puissance permettant d’imprimer, fût-ce de force, dans la mémoire collective de leurs voisins, une image flatteuse. Puissance qui aurait provoqué du même coup, chez ces mêmes voisins, de pesants ressentiments engendrant une image douteuse. C’est donc sans parti pris qu’on peut prendre le parti de se risquer à esquisser les contours de la silhouette du Luxembourgeois type.

Victor Goethe ou Wolfgang von Hugo?

La simple lecture d’une carte permet de comprendre que les Luxembourgeois vivent entre la France et l’Allemagne, à la frontière des mondes roman et germanique. Cette situation a évidemment influé sur l’histoire du pays, laquelle histoire, mouvementée et riche en rebondissements, a elle-même déterminé les réalités actuelles (ce qui va de soi n’importe où, donc ici aussi). Les Luxembourgeois ont gardé de l’époque de la forteresse et des souverainetés étrangères successives à la fois une étonnante faculté d’adaptation et une farouche volonté de préserver leur indépendance. Ils ont également gardé de ces temps troublés un sens pratique; on pourrait même dire un bon sens pratique les conduisant à la recherche presque obsessionnelle du consensus.

Un indice extrêmement tangible de ce sens inné du compromis est décelable dans le nom des Luxembourgeois. Placés entre le cousin germain et le voisin français, ils ont des prénoms francophones et des patronymes à consonance germanique. En principe, on se prénomme Jacques (c’est un exemple, tout le monde ne s’appelle pas Jacques) et on se nomme Schneider (c’est aussi un exemple, certains se nomment Schmit). Pour ne pas succomber à la tentation du schéma trop simple (un prénom français et un nom allemand, ce qui laisserait supposer un certain manque d’originalité), les Luxembourgeois transforment volontiers leurs prénoms en diminutifs bien luxembourgeois. Les Charles deviennent des Charel (ce qui diminue peu, il faut bien en convenir), les Henri des Heng, les Jean-Pierre des Jemp, les Émile des Mill, les Pierre des Pit...

Fontaine Michel Rodange ,
ZoomFontaine Michel Rodange

Ces exemples sont masculins, mais les femmes ne sont pas toujours épargnées. Pourtant, certains parents s’évertuent à donner à leurs nouveau-nés des prénoms monosyllabiques non diminuables. Histoire de ne pas faire comme les autres. Si l’on rencontre un Guy, un Marc ou un Luc, on peut en déduire que leurs parents sont des originaux. La période récente a quelque peu bousculé la règle et les mariages entre nationaux et immigrés ou entre Luxembourgeois disons d’il y a plus longtemps (pour éviter l’affreuse expression "de souche") et néo-Luxembourgeois, donnent d’étonnants mélanges. Des Julia Suarez-Schmit, des Roby Müller-Trippollini ou des Bernd Ogasaka-Schneider. Comme quoi si "plus d’un âne s’appelle Martin", tous les Luxembourgeois ne s’appellent pas Jacques Schneider. Et, comme ici autant qu’ailleurs les modes s’infiltrent insidieusement à travers les petits ou grands écrans, il ne doit pas manquer de petits Kevin ou de charmantes Zelda!

Légitimement fier d’être polyglotte, le Luxembourgeois lit (quand il les lit) Goethe et Hugo dans leurs langues respectives. Il lui arrive fréquemment d’être capable d’apprécier Shakespeare en anglais et bien entendu Michel Rodange, poète national, en luxembourgeois. Cette aptitude à déguster les chefs-d’œuvre dans leur langue originelle n’empêche pas le Luxembourgeois d’avoir ses préférences. En règle générale, il s’assoupit plus volontiers devant les chaînes allemandes, somnole devant les films américains, parcourt distraitement des journaux germanophones, écoute assidûment la radio luxembourgeoise, arpente avec mélancolie les plages belges et se jette goulûment sur la cuisine française. Il aime à répéter que la cuisine luxembourgeoise allie la qualité française à la quantité allemande. Tout en pensant que ni la qualité des uns ni la quantité des autres n’ont de leçon à donner à la «qualantité» luxembourgeoise.

Parfois déchiré lorsque la France et l’Allemagne s’affrontent à l’occasion d’une compétition footballistique, le Luxembourgeois sait devenir le supporter de celui qui aura gagné. Il ne s’agit pas là d’opportunisme, mais de bon sens. Que le FC Metz réalise une bonne saison, les spectateurs luxembourgeois se presseront dans les tribunes du stade Saint-Symphorien. Qu’il croupisse en fin de tableau, les travées de Kaiserslautern se rempliront. Il en va de même pour la vie politique des voisins. Que le parti proche de sa sensibilité l’emporte en France, l’actualité hexagonale revêtira un intérêt renforcé. Qu’il soit battu à Paris, mais triomphe outre-Moselle, les échos du Bundestag seront guettés avec attention.

Depuis que la construction européenne a écarté tout risque de conflit dans cette partie du Vieux Continent, il est normal de ne plus avoir à opposer Hugo à Goethe. Mais réduire les influences extérieures aux deux plus grands voisins serait oublier l’importance des proches parents belges. Les Luxembourgeois savent que, de l’autre côté de la frontière, les habitants de la Province du Luxembourg belge se nomment Luxembourgeois et les appellent, eux, les vrais de vrai, des grand-ducaux. Souvent amateurs de plages de la mer du Nord, admiratifs à l’égard des universités belges qu’ils fréquentent en grand nombre, consommateurs de ces bières étonnantes qui viennent faire de la concurrence aux productions nationales..., les Luxembourgeois sont juste un peu énervés quand des troupeaux de véhicules aux immatriculations rouges bloquent la circulation à certaines dates précises. Ils peuvent être encore plus agacés quand, chaque 11 novembre, les automobilistes français se joignent aux Belges pour créer dans la capitale les plus catastrophiques encombrements.

C’est que le Luxembourgeois aime qu’on apprécie son pays et qu’on vienne y faire du tourisme ou des achats. Il ne supporte simplement pas que cette présence nuise à la rapidité de ses propres trajets. Car son histoire d’amour avec la voiture est terriblement exclusive et ne tolère pas les rivaux. L’auto(mobile)satisfaction

On ne fabrique pas d’automobiles au Luxembourg. Par contre on en achète beaucoup. Les statistiques font état de plus d’une voiture par personne. Chaque personne possède donc au moins une bagnole, parfois deux, voire trois (fort heureusement, elle les conduit rarement simultanément), dans un pays qui compte moins de 100 kilomètres du nord au sud et une cinquantaine d’est en ouest (ou d’ouest en est, semble-t-il). L’absence de manufacturier national laisse libre choix au consommateur. Pas de réflexe chauvin donc, mais des habitudes marquées.

Trasport de voitures ,
ZoomTrasport de voitures

Durant l’Autofestival, les garages sont pris d’assaut par des hordes d’aficionados excités par les nouveautés aguicheuses. Bien sûr, des phénomènes comparables sont observés à Paris, Milan ou Genève. Mais si deux millions de personnes visitent le Salon de l’auto une fois tous les deux ans à Paris, cela ne représente qu’un soixantième de la population française annuellement. Ils sont bien plus que 7.000 Luxembourgeois à caresser à la fois les cambrures d’une carrosserie et l’idée de posséder le dernier modèle de chez Machin. Plutôt des modèles haut de gamme, ce qui explique que les emplacements de parking, conçus selon des standards étrangers, soient bien étriqués pour les véhicules circulant ici. Il y a paraît-il plusieurs dizaines de Ferrari immatriculées au Grand-Duché et on n’en croise quasiment jamais. Leurs propriétaires les utilisent de préférence à l’étranger, par discrétion sans doute. Si l’on souhaite avoir une voiture plus belle, plus grande, plus récente que le voisin, on sait se distancier de toute arrogance m’as-tu vu, toujours mal vue. Ici comme ailleurs, la voiture est un signe extérieur de réussite sociale. Mais ici, de manière moins ostensible. Il arrive encore que la nouvelle acquisition donne lieu à une promenade dominicale sur les rives de la Moselle, seule entorse à une traditionnelle et nécessaire modestie. C’est que le Luxembourgeois n’apprécie pas l’esbroufe, le remue-ménage, les esclandres, les vagues ou les turbulences. Son rêve n’est pas l’Empire du milieu, ce serait plutôt le Grand-Duché de l’entre-deux.

Complexe compliqué

Il est un impair à ne jamais commettre pour ne pas perdre l’amitié des Luxembourgeois: leur adresser les critiques qu’ils s’adressent eux-mêmes. Amateurs d’esprit satirique, d’ironie grinçante, d’impertinence et de vacheries cinglantes, les Luxembourgeois se pressent dans les spectacles de cabaret dénonçant leurs mauvaises habitudes ou leurs petits travers. Ils ne sont pas tendres avec eux-mêmes mais se réservent ce droit à la moquerie à leur sujet. Il faut dire que les préjugés souvent véhiculés à l’étranger à l’encontre de leur pays peuvent agacer sinon révolter. Nourris par une ignorance désolante de la réalité luxembourgeoise, certains commentaires injustes, complaisamment reproduits par des médias peu soucieux de rigueur éditoriale, finissent par créer des complexes.

Vers l’extérieur, le Luxembourgeois revendique son multilinguisme. Entre ses murs, il se plaint d’être zéroglotte. Disposant d’une langue maternelle limitée à quelques centaines de milliers de locuteurs, il est contraint de communiquer avec le reste du monde en utilisant des idiomes empruntés. Il s’ensuit une certaine gêne et une appréhension étonnante à prendre la parole en public. C’est peut-être ce qui explique la modestie, voire la timidité de beaucoup de Luxembourgeois. Les termes "audace" ou "ambition" sont presque des gros mots. Vanter ses mérites, revendiquer ses talents, valoriser ses qualités ... sont des attitudes peu appréciées ici. L’expression "en bon père de famille", figurant en toutes lettres dans bien des contrats ou des textes légaux, s’applique à tous les domaines. Mais si on se dit "petits", on n’aime guère se l’entendre dire. D’ailleurs le duché lui-même n’est-il pas grand?

Différents sans différends

Impossible de ne pas tomber dans le piège. La lecture de ce qui précède laisserait entendre que les Luxembourgeois sont comme-ci ou comme-ça. Il serait aisé de trouver les contre-exemples prouvant qu’ils sont exactement l’inverse. En fait, l’ouverture du pays, la diversité de sa société multiculturelle, les nuances régionales ou les particularités locales font de cette communauté une société plurielle extrêmement riche. La langue même des Luxembourgeois varie selon qu’on est originaire du nord ou du sud. Pas uniquement en ce qui concerne les accents, mais également pour le vocabulaire. Séparés de quelques kilomètres, les habitants de la Moselle et de la capitale se découvrent des différences de mentalité insoupçonnables pour l’observateur étranger. Les gens de l’Oesling se voient plus conviviaux, ceux du Minett plus simples, ceux de la capitale plus modernes. Les mêmes constatations vaudraient pour des pays plus vastes et plus peuplés. Ajoutons à ces variantes le fait que bien des Luxembourgeois ont le teint mat. Ou la peau noire. Ou les yeux bridés.

Qu’est-ce qui les rassemble fortement, sans qu’ils se ressemblent forcément? La certitude d’être à la fois des citoyens du monde, des Européens convaincus et des Luxembourgeois indépendants. C’est grâce à cette conviction que le Luxembourgeois n’est pas une espèce en voie de disparition. Et que son observation en milieu naturel est si difficile!

(Texte: Claude Frisoni)



Dernière mise à jour de cette page le : 29-12-2004

Haut de page Haut de page