Note:Your browser doesn't correctly display this page because of a bad stylesheets interpretation. This is probably due to an old browser version.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Presidency of the Council of the European Union]
  |  
 Version française        
 

You are here : Home > About Luxembourg > Society and Traditions > Culinary Luxembourg
Print this page Send this page

Culinary Luxembourg

Living it up à la luxembourgeoise

Patates ,
ZoomPatates

Without potatoes, it’s not a proper meal! This is the culinary motto of countless Luxembourgers.

And if anyone thinks that all delicacy is lost as soon as the common tuber is deployed, they obviously haven’t yet inhaled the aroma of lightly salted fried potatoes with smoked bacon, or of potatoes boiled in their skins with a smooth, creamy leek sauce.

Luxembourgers were even more appreciative of these dishes when the simple man’s truffels, imported to Europe from South America in the XVIth century, formed one of their basic foods for many decades, along with bread and milk. "The farmer knows it’s Sunday when he has had potatoes eighteen times in a row", runs a well-known saying from about 1850, in the then young Grand Duchy.

                          

Luxembourg cooking combines simplicity and internationality

Authentic Luxembourg cooking can be accurately described as: natural, simple, unaffected, hearty and without frills!

Does the gastronomy reflect the country and its inhabitants? Yes, it does, since the gastronomic culture of every nation is closely bound up with the surrounding geographical conditions, historical developments, social  characteristics, the mentality of the people and the way they live.

With the Grand Duchy, this means that numerous recipes are woven into the rhythm of life of the farmer’s world that has shaped huge swathes of Luxembourg society until well into the XXth century. Added to this is the fact that the country has always been a border area, a crossroads for widely varying European cultures. After the Celts, the Romans, the Teutons and the Franks had left their mark on the area, the Burgundians, the Spanish, the Austrians, the Dutch and the Germans did the same, and all these influences naturally found their way into the cooking pots.

Ultimately, it is the turbulent historical events that this small country has had to endure over the centuries which explain the international nature of Luxembourg gastronomic culture. The numerous waves of people moving across Europe led quite early on to the EU’s smallest state having cosmopolitan eating habits, and luckily, daily activities in the kitchen have never confined themselves to the officially determined borders – which is entirely in keeping with the culinary desire for new discoveries.

Typically luxembourgish dishes?

Judd mat Gardebounen ,
ZoomJudd mat Gardebounen

Luxembourg gastronomy therefore offers no scope for exaggerated patriotism. There is not a single indigenous dish which can in all conscience be described as typically and exclusively Luxembourgian, as research into the subject has clearly shown.

For instance, the oft-cited Kuddelfleck – defined in the official Luxembourg dictionary as "a Luxembourg national dish made from pre-cooked tripe or cow’s stomach, coated in breadcrumbs and fried in fat or oil" – is equally prized in its various versions by the Italians, the English and the Scots.

Let us take another example, just as often mentioned as a Luxembourg speciality: Kachkéis (a type of soft cheese). It has been shown that it was probably Spanish troops who imported their concojota to Luxembourg in the XVIIth century. What is definitely true, however, is that cancoillotte, which is related to the sticky, soft Kachkéis, can be found today in Franche-Comté in France, and that Germans, Austrians, Norwegians, Americans and even Brazilians delight in this creamy-yellow accompaniment to bread.

The best illustration of how culinary transfers can ideally work is pasta asciutta (also known as spaghetti bolognese), which has long since made itself at home in Luxembourg. The career of this fairly simple noodle dish, which has also been fully integrated into the Luxembourg language as Pastaschutta, illustrates how foreign food can be adapted to the needs of its current adoptive homeland, and the wonderful way in which cooks and diners are able to take traditions from other countries and adapt them for their own enjoyment. While the authentic Italian pasta asciutta – as its name implies – is eaten “dry, moisture-free", the Luxembourger will readily add a good dollop of mixed beef and pork mince in a sumptuous tomato, onion and garlic sauce.

And who really cares that the plate of bacalhau (dried cod) tasting so wonderfully of olive oil and garlic was towed to Luxembourg in the wake of the Portuguese immigrants at the beginning of the 1960s? What matters is that this dish also enriches local cooking and gives the diner a talking point with his new neighbours.

Some examples of typically Luxembourgish dishes and drinks

  • Bouneschlupp: a soup with French beans
  • Judd mat Gaardebounen: neck of pork with broad beans
  • Stäerzelen: quenelle of saracen
  • Kniddelen: flour dumpling
  • Tierteg: Sauerkraut and potato purée leftovers
  • Fritür: fried fish
  • Träipen: fried black pudding
  • Kuddelfleck: pre-cooked, fried tripe
  • Wëld: seasonally hunted animals
  • Kachkéis: soft, melted cheese
  • Quetschentaart: prune tart
  • Béier: beer. Luxembourg has many breweries
  • Quetsch: prune liqueur
  • Riesling, Pinot gris, Pinot blanc, Pinot noir, Gewürztraminer, Rivaner, Elbling: Luxembourg’s Mosella region offers many different wines

Wines in Luxembourg

Vins et mousseux ,
ZoomVins et mousseux

Luxembourg enjoys a very developed wine-growing culture in the Mosella region. The vineyards of Luxembourg’s Mosella valley belong to the most northern wine-growing and wine-producing regions in Europe.

Benefiting from a particularly mild micro-climate (temperatures are about 1 to 2 ° C superior to the country average and rainfall is evenly dispersed over the year), the Luxembourg vineyards produce great character wines, comparable to the world’s most famous labels.

The Mosella valley, which runs from Schengen to Wasserbillig over 42 km and constitutes the natural border between Luxembourg and Germany, is clearly divided into two parts. The district of Remich, with its heavy and abundant soil, is growing smooth and harmonious wine. In contrast, the district of Grevenmacher is a region with chalky rocks and slow erosion, producing a pure and elegant wine.

The names of the wines in Luxembourg depend on their type:

  •  Riesling: a wine of great finesse, pure and of beautiful elegance. Its bouquet is very fruitful and delicate: the “king of Luxembourg wines".
  • Pinot gris: a beautiful wine with a confirmed bouquet. Fully-flavoured and rich in many different extracts, this more opulent wine is perfect to complement red meat.
  • Pinot blanc: a pleasantly refreshing wine, with an elegant and convincing softness
  • Auxerrois: a wine of a fruitful fragrance and a slight nervous tip. The Auxerrois is a noble, lively and elegant wine.
  • Pinot noir: this type of wine is meant for red wines. The Pinot noir offers a very fruitful and elegant bouquet.
  • Gewürztraminer: a wine with distinct fragrances and spices, flattering both nose and mouth. This wine goes wonderfully with desert or a cheese platter.
  • Rivaner: a medley between the Riesling and Sylvaner wines, this young wine is delicate and pure, with a characteristic fragrance.
  • Elbling: a dry wine, light and refreshing, with a typical sharpness.

(Extracts of text of Georges Hausemer)



This page was last modified on : 29-12-2004

Top Top

Note: Votre navigateur n'affiche pas correctement ce site parce qu'il s'agit d'une version relativement ancienne d'un navigateur ou parce qu'il ne respecte pas les standards généralement préconisés pour les pages web. Pour en savoir plus lisez nos notes de conception.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Présidence du Conseil de l'Union européenne]
 English version        
 

Chemin de navigation : Accueil > Tout savoir sur le Luxembourg > Société et tradition > La cuisine luxembourgeoise
Imprimer cette page Envoyer cette page

La cuisine luxembourgeoise

Ripaille à la luxembourgeoise
La cuisine typique luxembourgeoise est simple et internationale
Plats typiquement luxembourgeois
Vins luxembourgeois ?

Ripaille à la luxembourgeoise

Patates ,
ZoomPatates

Pas de vrai repas sans pommes de terre! Telle est en effet la devise culinaire de nombreux Luxembourgeois.

Et ceux qui prétendent que l’arrivée du tubercule à tout faire sonne le glas de la délicatesse, n’ont sans doute jamais respiré le fumet qui s’exhale de pommes de terre sautées légèrement salées et accompagnées de lard fumé ou de pommes de terre en robe des champs accommodées d’une onctueuse sauce à la crème et aux poireaux.

Les ancêtres des Luxembourgeois le savaient si bien que la "truffe du pauvre", importée au XVIe siècle d’Amérique du Sud en Europe, constitua, outre le lait et le pain, l’aliment de base de la population pendant des décennies. Selon un adage en vogue vers 1850 dans le Grand-Duché naissant, c’est seulement après avoir mangé dix-huit fois des pommes de terre que le paysan sait que dimanche est de retour.

La cuisine typique luxembourgeoise est simple et internationale

C’est précisément cela la vraie cuisine luxembourgeoise: un mélange de naturel, de simplicité et de force, sans chichis ni fioritures!

La gastronomie serait-elle à l’image du pays et de ses habitants? Oui, car la culture gastronomique de chaque pays est étroitement liée aux conditions géographiques de son espace de vie, à son parcours historique, à sa structure sociale, à la mentalité et à la façon d’être des individus qui le composent.

C’est ainsi que, dans le Grand-Duché, de nombreuses recettes liées au mode de vie de ce monde agricole ont influencé de larges couches de la société luxembourgeoise jusqu’à une époque avancée du XXe siècle. À cela s’ajoute la position frontalière du pays qui en fait depuis toujours le croisement de plusieurs cultures européennes très différentes. Après les Celtes, les Romains, les Germains et les Francs, ce fut au tour des Bourguignons, des Espagnols, des Autrichiens, des Hollandais et des Allemands de laisser des traces de leur passage, bien entendu perceptibles dans les marmites.

Le caractère international de la culture gastronomique luxembourgeoise trouve ses origines dans les événements historiques mouvementés auxquels le petit pays a été confronté durant des siècles. Très tôt, des menus cosmopolites résultèrent des nombreuses vagues de migration européennes à destination du plus petit État de l’UE et, par chance, le quotidien des cuisines ne fut jamais troublé par les contraintes administratives, tout occupé qu’il était par sa quête de nouveaux plaisirs culinaires.

Plats typiquement luxembourgeois ?

Judd mat Gardebounen ,
ZoomJudd mat Gardebounen

En ce sens, la gastronomie luxembourgeoise ne laisse aucune place au chauvinisme. Il n’existe pas un seul plat du pays qui puisse en toute bonne conscience être considéré comme typique et exclusivement luxembourgeois, comme l’ont clairement mis en évidence certaines recherches effectuées dans ce domaine.

  • Le Kuddelfleck, un plat souvent cité en exemple et défini par le dictionnaire luxembourgeois officiel comme un "plat national luxembourgeois composé de tripes ou d’estomac de bœuf cuits à point, puis panés et frits dans de la graisse ou de l’huile", existe sous des formes diverses, également appréciées des Italiens, des Anglais et des Écossais.
  • Prenons encore l’exemple du Kachkéis, un fromage cuit considéré au même titre comme une spécialité luxembourgeoise. Il semble fort probable à présent que ce furent les troupes espagnoles qui importèrent au XVIIe siècle leur concojota au Luxembourg. Le fait est qu’aujourd’hui encore, il existe une variante de ce fromage cuit en Franche-Comté française, la cancoillotte, et que les Allemands, les Autrichiens, les Norvégiens, les Américains et même les Brésiliens se régalent de cette pâte à tartiner jaune crémeuse.
  • Les pasta asciutta, encore appelées spaghetti bolognese, sont un exemple parfait de transfert culinaire intégré de longue date au Luxembourg. Totalement accepté par la langue luxembourgeoise sous le nom de Pastaschutta, ce plat de pâtes simple en soi montre comment les mets étrangers peuvent être adaptés aux besoins de leur pays d’adoption et de quelle façon extraordinaire les cuisiniers et les gastronomes savent adopter les habitudes de l’étranger et en faire usage pour leur satisfaction personnelle. S’il est vrai que la recette italienne authentique des pasta asciutta repose, comme son nom l’indique, sur une préparation sèche, sans apport d’humidité, les Luxembourgeois ajoutent volontiers à la pâte ce qu’il faut de viande hachée mélangée à une copieuse sauce aux tomates, aux oignons et à l’ail.
  • Et, en toute bonne foi, qui se plaindrait de l’existence du Bacalhau (morue), un plat au parfum si puissant d’huile d’olive et d’ail, qui est apparu au Luxembourg au début des années soixante, époque de l’arrivée massive des immigrants portugais? L’essentiel est bien que ce plat enrichisse le menu local et permette plus facilement au gourmet d’entrer en contact avec son nouveau voisin.

Quelques exemples de plats et de boissons dits "typiques"

  • Bouneschlupp: soupe aux haricots verts
  • Judd mat Gaardebouden: Collet fumé aux fèves de marais
  • Stäerzelen: Quenelles de Sarrasin
  • Kniddelen: Quenelles de farine
  • Tierteg: Galettes de pommes de terre et de choucroute
  • Fritür: La friture de poissons
  • Traïpen: Les boudins noirs
  • Kuddelfleck: Le gras double
  • Wëld: En période de chasse, on trouve divers plats de gibier
  • Kachkéis: fromage fondu, concaillote
  • Quetschentaart: tarte aux prunes
  • Béier: il existent plusieurs brasseries qui font de la bière au Luxembourg
  • Riesling, Pinot gris, Pinot blanc, Pinot noir, Gewürztraminer, Rivaner et Elbling
  • Quetsch: liqueur fabriquée à partir de prunes du pays

Vins luxembourgeois ?

Vins et mousseux ,
ZoomVins et mousseux

En effet il existe au Luxembourg une viticulture bien développée et cela dans la région mosellane: le vignoble de la Moselle luxembourgeoise fait toutefois partie d'une des régions viticoles les plus septentrionales d'Europe.

Profitant d'un micro-climat particulièrement doux (températures de 1 à 2 °C supérieures à la moyenne du pays et taux de pluviosité bien réparti sur l'ensemble de l'année), le vignoble luxembourgeois produit des vins de grand caractère, qui méritent largement leur place parmi les appellations au grand renom.

La vallée de la Moselle, qui s'étire sur une longueur de 42 km de Schengen à Wasserbillig et qui marque la frontière naturelle entre le Luxembourg et l'Allemagne, est nettement divisée en deux parties: le Canton de Remich, avec ses sols lourds et fertiles, produit des vins coulants et harmonieux, tandis que le Canton de Grevenmacher, région aux roches calcaires à érosion lente, est à l'origine de vins plus racés et élégants.

Les vins luxembourgeois portent le nom de leur cépage:

  • Riesling: vin de grande finesse, racé et de belle élégance. Son bouquet est tout en fruits et en délicatesse: le "Roi des vins" luxembourgeois.
  • Pinot gris: vin de belle typicité au bouquet bien affirmé. Il est corsé et riche en extraits divers, qui font son opulence. Vu sa bouche ample et volumineuse, il se marie parfaitement à la viande rouge.
  • Pinot blanc: vin d'une fraîcheur agréable, élégant et d'une convaincante souplesse.
  • Auxerrois: avec en bouche des arômes fruités et une pointe de nervosité, l'Auxerrois est un vin noble, vif et élégant.
  • Pinot noir: cépage destiné à la production de vins rouges ou rosés. Vin très fruité au bouquet élégant.
  • Gewürztraminer: vin aux arômes avoués et avec un bouquet épicé, qui séduit à la fois le nez et la bouche. S'accorde à merveille avec un dessert ou des fromages fermentés.
  • Rivaner: mélange de Riesling et de Sylvaner, le Rivaner est un vin fin et racé, au parfum typique. Se boit jeune.
  • Elbling: vin sec et léger à la fraîcheur caractéristique et une acidité typique.

(Extraits de texte de Georges Hausemer)



Dernière mise à jour de cette page le : 29-12-2004

Haut de page Haut de page