Note:Your browser doesn't correctly display this page because of a bad stylesheets interpretation. This is probably due to an old browser version.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Presidency of the Council of the European Union]
  |  
 Version française        
 

You are here : Home > About Luxembourg > Culture and Media > Luxembourg, a film country
Print this page Send this page

Luxembourg, a film country

Far from being able to pride itself on a long as well as rich national cinematographical tradition, the Grand Duchy has only recently managed to find its place in the global audiovisual industry. A lot of Luxembourg films and co-productions were shown and awarded at major international festivals. Day after day, year after year, the country witnesses the growth of a new jewel in the crown of its economy: the audiovisual production.

Girl with a Pearl Earring ,
ZoomGirl with a Pearl Earring

The professionalization of the branch
Huge success for Luxembourg co-productions
A generation of Luxembourg directors recognized by their peers
Films made in Luxembourg
The animated films

Since the 1990s, co-productions with foreign companies have regularly attracted leading film stars to Luxembourg. John Malkovich, Nathalie Baye, Nicolas Cage, Gérard Depardieu, Catherine Deneuve, Philippe Noiret, Patrick Swayze, Joseph Fiennes, Jeremy Irons and Al Pacino are but some who have demonstrated their talents in the Grand Duchy. Alongside the cream of the crop, Luxembourg actors, directors, producers and technicians have known how to get a piece of the action and managed to make a name for themselves on the international roll of honour of cinema professionals.

This marks the birth of a national industry that has no reason to be jealous of its famous foreign peers, as a few figures will suffice to show: Luxembourg now boasts around 40 production companies, half a dozen of which regularly produce feature films, several animation studios as well as around 30 specialist services enterprises.

This young branch of activity occupies over 500 film-makers, both from Luxembourg and abroad, and produces 8 to 15 feature films per year. There are about forty directors among the film-makers, the majority of whom currently dedicate themselves to short films and documentaries.

The professionalization of the branch

1989 was to become a turning point for Luxembourg cinema. The Government decided to invest 15 million LUF (about EUR 372,000) in producing a film that was to be shot on the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the country’s independence: Schacko Klak. The film was adapted from the novel of the same name by the Luxembourg author Roger Manderscheid, the story of his own childhood during the Second World War in a village not far away from the Luxembourg capital.

After this experience Luxembourg producers have drown the conclusion that it was time to heave their production structures to a professional level. As a result, the Luxembourg Government decides to promote this new aspect of the Grand Duchy. With no real tradition of motion pictures to lean on, Luxembourg acquires the means to create one.

The Film Fund of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (Fonds national de soutien à la production audiovisuelle), founded in 1990, is the official authority in charge of the promotion and development of the audiovisual sector. The fund implements the sum of the audiovisual production support policies.

Production cinématographique ,
ZoomProduction cinématographique

The presence in Luxembourg of two giants of audiovisual communication - the RTL Group, a European television and radio broadcaster, and the Société européenne des satellites (SES) has also helped attract many innovative companies in the sector to the country.

As a result, the cinema sector in Luxembourg developed extremely rapidly during the 1990s.

While some 110 films of all genres (documentaries, feature-length films, shorts and news reports) were produced between 1899 and 1989, 120 were produced between 1990 and 1999. Most of which were shorts.

In 1992, the film Hochzäitsnuecht by Pol Cruchten was the first 100% Luxembourg feature film presented at the Cannes Festival (in the Un Certain Regard section). Subsequently it won the Max Ophüls prize at the Festival of the same name in Saarbrücken/Germany.

The Luxembourg Government continued its efforts to support the audiovisual sector, particularly through production agreements with foreign countries. Memorandums of agreement on audiovisual relations were signed in 1994 with Quebec and in 1996 with Canada. Other motion picture agreements were signed in 2001 with France and in 2002 with Germany.



Huge success for Luxembourg co-productions

In the absence of a domestic market enabling to make a feature film profitable, most national companies focused on co-productions with foreign companies. On the other side, foreign producers increasingly called upon their Luxembourg colleagues to set up their projects.

The Luxembourg co-productions above all, produced over the past five years partially in the Grand Duchy, bear witness to the success achieved by the various efforts of the Luxembourg Government to support the audiovisual sector:

  • C.Q., by Roman Coppola, with Gérard Depardieu, Giancarlo Giannini and Jeremy Davies (2002), was presented out of competition at the Cannes Festival.
  • Shadow of the Vampire, by Elias Merhige, was nominated for an Oscar for 'Best make-up'. For the role of Max Schreck, Willem Dafoe won a nomination for the Golden Globes and Oscars in 2001 in the category 'Best supporting actor'.
  • The Musketeer by Peter Hyams, starring Justin Chambers, Catherine Deneuve and Mena Suvari (2001), was previewed at the Deauville Festival of American Cinema and topped the American box office from the first weekend of its release in September 2001.
  • Jaime, directed by Antonio Pedro Vasconcelos (2000), was rewarded at the San Sebastián Festival with the Special Jury Prize and selected for the European Film Awards 2000 in the category 'Best European cinematographer'.
  • Une liaison pornographique, by Frédéric Fonteyne, starring Nathalie Baye and Sergie Lopez, won the Media Prize at the Cannes Festival in 2001. Nathalie Baye won the best actress award at the Venice International Film Festival for her role.
  • La Femme de Gilles, by Frédéric Fonteyne, starring Emmanuelle Devos (2004).
  • Secret Passage, by Adémir Kenovic, starring John Turturro, Katherine Borowitz and Tara FitzGerald, was officially selected at the November 2003 Boston Jewish Film Festival. The film crew set up on the disused industrial site 'Terres Rouges' in Esch-sur-Alzette.

From Venice to Esch-sur-Alzette

After shooting several scenes in Venice, the film crew from Secret Passage set up on the industrial wasteland Terres Rouges in Esch-sur-Alzette. Within a mere six months, some 300 craftsmen and labourers transformed six hectares of this abandoned site to make it look like Venice at the end of the 16th century. The sets were designed by Miljen Kreka Kljakovic.

  • Venise Belval ,
    ZoomVenise Belval

    The Merchant of Venice
    , by Michael Radford, produced on the sets of Venice, starring Joseph Fiennes, Jeremy Irons and Al Pacino.
  • Nha Fala ('My Voice') and Un honnête commerçant (2002) ('An Honest Shopkeeper') were selected in the programme for the 59th Venice International Film Festival.
  • Une Part du ciel (2002) was listed in the 'Un Certain Regard' Official Selection at the Cannes Festival.
  • George and the Dragon (2002) by Tom Reeve, starring Patrick Swayze.
  • The Tulse Luper Suitcase: The Moab Story by the Englishman Peter Greenaway (2003) was listed in the selection for the Palme d’Or at the Cannes Festival.
  • The Girl with a Pearl Earring, directed by Peter Webber and shot at the site in Esch-sur-Alzette (converted into the Delft of the 17th century), was nominated for the Golden Globes 2004 in the categories 'Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama' for Scarlett Johansson and 'Best Original Score - Motion Picture' for Alexandre Desplat. It also received the 'Golden Hitchcock' (Jury Prize) as well as the 'Silver Hitchcock' (Public Prize) at the 14th edition of the Dinard British Film Festival (in October 2003).
  • Twin Sisters, directed by the Dutchman Ben Somborgaart, won the Golden Calf 2003 for the Best Feature Film at the Netherlands Film Festival.

Cinénygma Luxembourg and Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis

Organized in collaboration with the Film Fund and the multiplex Utopolis, the Cinénygma Luxembourg International Film Festival presents around 30 European and international films on an annual basis, a competition for feature-length and short films, and the now traditional Fantasy Film Night (four films in succession).

A total of four awards are issued at this festival: the 'Grand prix Cynénigma' awarded to the festival’s best feature film, the 'Mélies d’argent' which goes to the best European fantasy film, the People’s Award and the Jury Prize for the best short film.

In 2003, the first Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis was also awarded as part of a week devoted entirely to national productions. The objective of this award is to reward the best contributions to Luxembourg cinema.



A generation of Luxembourg directors recognized by their peers

In recent years only two feature-length fiction films have been shot in the Luxembourg language (Back in Trouble, 1997, and Le Club des chômeurs, 2002), both by Andy Bausch. Moreover, only eight directors from or living in Luxembourg (Andy Bausch, Pol Cruchten, Paul Scheuer, Geneviève Mersch, Laurent Brandenbourger, Paul Kieffer, Frank Hoffmann and Luis Galvão Teles) have made feature-length films.

Le Club des chômeurs by Andy Bausch was a huge success when it was released in 2002, with an audience of over 40,000 spectators. Luxembourg actors such as Thierry van Werveke, Myriam Muller, André Jung, Marco Lorenzini, Fernand Fox and Luc Feit were top of the bill. In 2004 was shot the sequel of this comedy of historic success, La Revanche, written by Andy Bausch, Jean-Louis Schlesser and Nicolas Steil. The film leans of course on the main characters of Le Club des chômeurs as well as on new characters played by actors with various backgrounds and it is part of Luxembourg’s reality of today, modern, multicultural and multilingual.

In 2002, Geneviève Mersch, a Luxembourg director who had already made a name for herself with high-profile short films and documentaries, shot her first feature film, J’ai toujours voulu être une sainte ('I always wanted to be a saint'). In 2003, this film was awarded the Zénith d’or for the best first feature film at the Montreal World Film Festival. At the first awards ceremony of the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis 2003 the film won the award for 'Best Luxembourg Feature Film'.

In 2001, Pol Cruchten shot Boys on the Run in English in the United States.

Black Dju (1996), also by Pol Cruchten, starring Philippe Léotard and the Cape Verdian singer Cesaria Evora, has been shown at many festivals throughout the world.

Luis Galãvo Teles directed Fado Blues in 2002.

In 2002 the Luxembourger Laurent Brandenbourger co-directed his first feature film together with the Belgian Philippe Boon Petites Misères, which starred Marie Trintignant.

Ere Mela Mela ,
ZoomEre Mela Mela

Dan Wiroth, another Luxembourg director, walked off with awards from all the festivals at the end of the 1990s with his short film Fragile, in which he animated glasses.

In 2001, Wiroth had similar success with his short film Ere Mela Mela. Among other awards, it won the Hans Züllig Prize for the best dance film at the 52nd Montecatini International Short Film Festival in Italy. Dan Wiroth reappeared in 2003 with a new dance film called If not Why not. This film received the award for 'Best Short Film' at the first edition of the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis.

Im Anfang war der Blick ('In the Beginning was the Eye') by the Luxembourg director Bady Minck appeared in the Official Selection in the Directors’ Fortnight at the Cannes Festival in May 2003.



Films made in Luxembourg

Founded in 1989, the CNA (Centre national de l'audiovisuel) files the national productions and, more generally, all films produced or co-produced in the Grand Duchy. Furthermore, it stores the entity of all film, video and audio materials of RTL Télé Lëtzebuerg and it disposes of a considerable collection of family films. The CNA produces and co-produces documentaries on the basis of archived films (Little Big One, Histoires de jeunesse, D’Lëtzebuerger am Tour de France, Ons Arméi).

In 1997, in co-operation with the Film Fund Luxembourg and ULPA (Union of Luxembourg Audiovisual Producers), the CNA launched a programme named Films made in Luxembourg, created to distribute documentaries on the Grand Duchy on videocassettes, as well as fictional films; additionally, the programme proposes to broadcast these films regularly on national television.

In December 2003 the CNA issued a very striking documentary by Andy Bausch called L’homme au cigare, which was rated best film of the year at the first edition of the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis together with Geneviève Mersch’s J’ai toujours voulu être une sainte.

The documentary Heim ins Reich, directed by Claude Lahr and produced by the CNA, was a huge success in 2004. It was the first time a Luxembourg film arrived in first place at the box office in the Grand Duchy and the first time the box office was dominated by a documentary.



The animated films

Certain Luxembourg studios started to specialize in animated films at the beginning of the 1990s. Since then, the sector has achieved several unchallenged successes and a real industrial platform, internationally recognized, has been created in the Grand Duchy.

Animated films launched or co-produced by Luxembourg studios are:

  • Kirikou and the Sorceress: this feature-length animated film was extremely successful with the public, as evidenced by the sale of over one million tickets in France alone (and the 650,000 DVDs that followed).
  • Freccia Azzurra (The Blue Arrow), a Christmas story, has been sold in 85 countries, including the United States.
  • Tristan et Iseut, which combines 2D and 3D animation, was in competition at the Annecy International Animated Film Festival.



This page was last modified on : 29-12-2004

Top Top

Note: Votre navigateur n'affiche pas correctement ce site parce qu'il s'agit d'une version relativement ancienne d'un navigateur ou parce qu'il ne respecte pas les standards généralement préconisés pour les pages web. Pour en savoir plus lisez nos notes de conception.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Présidence du Conseil de l'Union européenne]
 English version        
 

Chemin de navigation : Accueil > Tout savoir sur le Luxembourg > Culture et médias > Le Luxembourg, pays cinématographique
Imprimer cette page Envoyer cette page

Le Luxembourg, pays cinématographique

Loin de pouvoir se targuer d’une longue et riche tradition cinématographique nationale, le Grand-Duché a su ces dernières années trouver sa place dans l'industrie audiovisuelle mondiale. De nombreux films ou coproductions luxembourgeois ont été présentés, voire primés lors de grands festivals internationaux. Le pays voit ainsi grandir jour après jour, année après année, un nouveau fleuron de son économie: la production audiovisuelle.

Girl with a Pearl Earring ,
ZoomGirl with a Pearl Earring

La professionnalisation du secteur
Grand succès pour les coproductions luxembourgeoises
Une génération de réalisateurs luxembourgeois reconnus
Films made in Luxembourg
Les films d’animation

Depuis les années 1990, les coproductions avec des sociétés étrangères ont attiré à des intervalles réguliers des stars du grand écran au Luxembourg. John Malkovich, Nathalie Baye, Nicolas Cage, Gérard Depardieu, Catherine Deneuve, Philippe Noiret, Jeremy Irons ou Al Pacino ont déjà exercé leur talent au Grand-Duché. Par ailleurs, des acteurs, réalisateurs et techniciens luxembourgeois ont également su tirer leur épingle du jeu et graver leur nom au tableau international des professionnels du 7e art.

Ainsi est née une industrie nationale qui n'a rien à envier aux productions étrangères. Quelques chiffres en témoignent: il existe aujourd'hui au Luxembourg une quarantaine de sociétés de production dont une demi-douzaine produit régulièrement des longs métrages, quelques studios d'animation ainsi qu’une trentaine de sociétés de service spécialisées.

Cette jeune branche d’activité compte plus de 500 cinéastes, luxembourgeois et étrangers confondus, dont près de quarante réalisateurs, et tourne actuellement entre huit et quinze longs métrages par an. La majorité des cinéastes se consacre pour l’instant aux courts métrages et aux documentaires.

La professionnalisation du secteur

1989 allait devenir une nouvelle année charnière pour le cinéma luxembourgeois. Le gouvernement décida d’investir 15 millions de francs luxembourgeois (372.000 euros) dans la production d’un film qui devait être tourné à l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de l’indépendance du pays: Schacko Klak. Le film a été adapté du roman du même nom de l’auteur luxembourgeois Roger Manderscheid, qui y raconte son enfance pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale dans un village situé non loin de la capitale luxembourgeoise.

De cette expérience, les producteurs luxembourgeois ont tiré la conclusion qu’il devenait temps de professionnaliser les structures de production. Le gouvernement luxembourgeois prend alors la décision de promouvoir cette industrie. N'ayant aucune véritable tradition cinématographique sur laquelle s’appuyer, le Luxembourg se donne les moyens d'en créer une.

Le Fonds national de soutien à la production audiovisuelle, créé en 1990, est l’instance officielle en charge de la promotion et du développement du secteur audiovisuel. Il met en œuvre l’ensemble de la politique de soutien à la production audiovisuelle.

Production cinématographique ,
ZoomProduction cinématographique

Bien évidemment, la présence au Luxembourg de deux géants de la communication audiovisuelle, RTL Group, télé- et radio-diffuseur européen, et la Société européenne des satellites (SES), a contribué à attirer au Luxembourg de nombreuses entreprises innovatrices du secteur.

Le secteur du cinéma au Grand-Duché connaît alors une évolution extrêmement rapide au cours des années 1990.

Alors que tous genres confondus (documentaires, longs et courts métrages, reportages), on avait produit quelque 110 films entre 1899 et 1989, il y en eut 120 entre 1990 et 1999 dont la plupart étaient des courts métrages.

En 1992, le film Hochzäitsnuecht de Pol Cruchten fut le premier long métrage 100% luxembourgeois présenté au Festival de Cannes (dans la section Un certain regard). Le film remporta ensuite le prix Max Ophüls au festival du même nom à Sarrebruck/Allemagne.

Le gouvernement luxembourgeois de son côté poursuiva ses efforts de soutien au secteur de l’audiovisuel, notamment par le biais d’accords de production avec des pays étrangers. Des protocoles d’entente sur les relations audiovisuelles ont été signés en 1994 avec le Québec et en 1996 avec le Canada. De même, des accords cinématographiques ont été signés en 2001 avec la France, puis, en 2002, avec l’Allemagne.



Grand succès pour les coproductions luxembourgeoises

En l’absence d’un marché national permettant de rentabiliser un long métrage, la plupart des sociétés nationales se sont tournées vers les coproductions avec des maisons de production étrangères. D’autre part, des producteurs étrangers avaient de plus en plus souvent recours à leurs collègues luxembourgeois pour monter leurs projets.

Ce sont surtout les coproductions luxembourgeoises, réalisées au cours des cinq dernières années et tournées partiellement au Grand-Duché, qui témoignent du succès remporté par les efforts de soutien du gouvernement luxembourgeois:

  • C.Q. de Roman Coppola, avec Gérard Depardieu, Giancarlo Giannini et Jeremy Davies (2002), présenté hors sélection au Festival de Cannes.
  • Shadow of the Vampire de Elias Merhige, nominé dans la catégorie "Best make-up" aux Oscars. Le rôle de Max Schleck a valu à Willem Dafoe une nomination aux Golden Globes ainsi qu’aux Oscars 2001 dans la catégorie "Best supporting actor".
  • The Musketeer de Peter Hyams, avec Justin Chambers, Catherine Deneuve et Mena Suvari (2001), projeté en avant-première au Festival du cinéma américain de Deauville. Le film atteint le sommet du box-office américain dès le premier week-end de sa sortie en septembre 2001.
  • Jaime, du Portugais Antonio Pedro Vasconcelos (2000), distingué au Festival de San Sebastian par le Prix spécial du jury et sélectionné pour les European Film Awards 2000 dans la catégorie "Meilleur directeur de la photographie".
  • Une liaison pornographique de Frédéric Fonteyne, avec Nathalie Baye et Sergie Lopez, a remporté le Prix MEDIA au Festival de Cannes en 2001. Pour son rôle, Nathalie Baye s'est vue décerner le prix de la meilleure actrice au Festival international du film de Venise.
  • La Femme de Gilles de Frédéric Fonteyne, avec Emmanuelle Devos (2004).
  • Secret Passage d’Adémir Kenovic, avec John Turturro, Katherine Borowitz et Tara FitzGerald, en sélection officielle au Boston Jewish Film Festival en novembre 2003. L’équipe de tournage s’était installée sur la friche industrielle appelée Terres Rouges.

De Venise à Esch-sur-Alzette:

Après avoir tourné plusieurs scènes à Venise, l’équipe du tournage de Secret Passage s’est installée sur la friche industrielle appelée Terres Rouges à Esch-sur-Alzette. En l'espace de six mois, quelque 300 artisans et ouvriers avaient transformé six hectares de cette friche abandonnée pour leur donner l’apparence de la Venise de la fin du XVIe siècle. Ces décors ont été conçus par Miljen Kreka Kljakovic.

Venise Belval ,
ZoomVenise Belval

  • The Merchant of Venice, réalisé par Michael Radford sur les coulisses de Venise, avec Joseph Fiennes, Jeremy Irons et Al Pacino.
  • Nha Fala (Ma Voix) et Un honnête commerçant (2002), sélectionnées dans le programme de la 59e Mostra de Venise.
  • Une Part du ciel (2002) a figuré dans la sélection officielle "Un certain regard" du Festival de Cannes.
  • George and the Dragon de Tom Reeve, avec Patrick Swayze (2002).
  • The Tulse Luper Suitcase: The Moab Story de l’Anglais Peter Greenaway (2003), a figuré dans la sélection pour la Palme d’Or au Festival de Cannes.
  • The Girl with the Pearl Earring, réalisé par le Britannique Peter Webber sur le site d’Esch-sur-Alzette (reconverti pour l’occasion en Delft du 17e siècle), nominé aux Golden Globes 2004 dans les catégories "meilleure actrice" pour la comédienne Scarlett Johannson et "meilleure musique originale" pour Alexandre Desplat. Le film a reçu le Hitchcock d’Or (Grand Prix) ainsi que le Hitchcock d’argent (Prix du Public) lors du Festival du film britannique de Dinard (octobre 2003).
  • Twin Sisters, réalisé par le Néerlandais Ben Somborgaart, s’est vu décerner le Golden Calf 2003 pour le meilleur long métrage au Netherlands Film Festival.

Cinénygma et Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis

Organisé en collaboration avec le Fonds national de soutien à la production audiovisuelle, Cinénygma Luxembourg International Film Festival propose chaque année une trentaine de films européens et internationaux, une compétition pour longs et courts métrages ainsi que la Nuit du film fantastique.

Au total, quatre prix sont décernés par le festival: le Grand prix Cinénygma pour le meilleur film du festival, le Méliès d’argent pour le meilleur film fantastique européen, le Prix du public et le Prix du jury pour le meilleur court métrage.

En 2003 a également été décerné le premier Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis dans le cadre d'une semaine dédiée entièrement aux productions nationales. L’objectif de ce prix est de récompenser les meilleures contributions au cinéma luxembourgeois.



Une génération de réalisateurs luxembourgeois reconnus

Ces dernières années, seuls deux longs métrages ont été tournés en langue luxembourgeoise, Back in Trouble (1997) et Le Club des chômeurs (2002), tous deux d’Andy Bausch. Par ailleurs, seuls 6 réalisateurs luxembourgeois ou résidant au Luxembourg (Andy Bausch, Pol Cruchten, Paul Scheuer, Geneviève Mersch, Laurent Brandenbourger et Luis Galvão Teles) ont jusqu’à présent tourné des longs métrages.

Le Club des chômeurs connut un succès fulgurant lors de sa sortie en salle en 2002 avec plus de 40.000 entrées. Des acteurs luxembourgeois tels que Thierry Van Werveke, Myriam Muller, André Jung, Marco Lorenzini, Fernand Fox et Luc Feit y figurent en tête d’affiche. En 2004, est tournée la suite de ce film au succès historique: il s’agit du film La Revanche, comédie coécrite par Andy Bausch, Jean-Louis Schlesser et Nicolas Steil, qui s’appuie à la fois sur les personnages principaux du Club des Chômeurs et sur de nouveaux personnages interprétés par des acteurs provenant d’horizons variés et qui s’inscrit dans la réalité luxembourgeoise d’aujourd’hui, moderne, multiculturelle et multilingue.

En 2002, Geneviève Mersch, cinéaste luxembourgeoise qui s’était déjà distinguée en réalisant des courts métrages et des documentaires très remarqués, tourna son premier long métrage J’ai toujours voulu être une sainte. En 2003, ce film a reçu le "Zénith d’or" du meilleur premier long métrage au Festival des films du monde de Montréal et fut proclamé "meilleur long métrage luxembourgeois" lors de la 1re remise de prix du Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis en 2003.

En 2001, Pol Cruchten a tourné Boys on the Run en anglais aux Etats-Unis.

Black Dju (1996), également de Pol Cruchten, avec Philippe Léotard et la chanteuse capverdienne Cesaria Evora, fut projeté dans de nombreux festivals à travers le monde.

Luis Galvão Teles de son côté a réalisé Fado Blues en 2002.

En 2002, le Luxembourgeois Laurent Brandenbourger a co-réalisé avec le Belge Philippe Boon le long métrage Petites Misères, avec Marie Trintignant.

Ere Mela Mela ,
ZoomEre Mela Mela

Dan Wiroth, un autre réalisateur luxembourgeois, a raflé des prix dans tous les festivals de la fin des années 1990 avec son court métrage Fragile dans lequel il animait des verres.

En 2001, Dan Wiroth connut un succès similaire avec son court métrage intitulé Ere Mela Mela, qui a obtenu, entre autres, le Prix Hans Züllig pour le meilleur film de danse à la 52e édition du Festival international des courts métrages de Montecatini en Italie. Dan Wiroth a récidivé en 2003 avec un nouveau film de danse, intitulé cette fois If not Why not (Prix du meilleur court métrage lors de la 1re édition du Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis).

Im Anfang war der Blick (Au commencement était le regard, 2002) de la réalisatrice luxembourgeoise Bady Minck s’est retrouvé en compétition officielle dans la Quinzaine des réalisateurs au Festival de Cannes en mai 2003.



Films made in Luxembourg

Créé en 1989, le Centre national de l'audiovisuel (CNA) archive les productions nationales et en général tous les films produits ou coproduits au Grand-Duché, ainsi que les collections film, vidéo et audio de RTL Télé Lëtzebuerg et dispose également d’une très importante collection de films de famille. Le CNA produit et coproduit par ailleurs lui-même des documentaires à base d’archives (Little Big One, Histoires de jeunesse, D’Lëtzebuerger am Tour de France, Ons Arméi).

En 1997, le CNA, en collaboration avec le Fonds national de soutien à la production audiovisuelle et l’Union luxembourgeoise de la production audiovisuelle (ULPA), a lancé un programme intitulé Films made in Luxembourg pour distribuer sur cassette vidéo des documentaires sur le Grand-Duché, mais également des films de fiction, et proposer leur programmation régulière sur la chaîne de télévision nationale.

En décembre 2003, le CNA a sorti le documentaire très remarqué d’Andy Bausch intitulé L’homme au cigare qui avait été sacré meilleur film de l’année au premier Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis, ex æquo avec Geneviève Mersch pour son J’ai toujours voulu être une sainte.

Le documentaire Heim ins Reich, réalisé par Claude Lahr et produit par le Centre national de l’audiovisuel, a remporté en 2004 un grand succès auprès du public. Il s’agissait de la première fois qu’un film luxembourgeois est arrivé en tête du box-office au Grand-Duché et la première fois qu’un documentaire a dominé le box-office.



Les films d’animation

Au début des années 1990, certains studios luxembourgeois se spécialisent dans le cinéma d’animation. Depuis, ce secteur affiche plusieurs succès incontestés dans le milieu et une véritable plate-forme industrielle reconnue de par le monde s’est créée au Grand-Duché.

Exemples de films d’animation réalisés ou coproduits par des sociétés luxembourgeoises:

  • Kirikou et la sorcière (1998): ce long métrage d'animation remporta un succès fou auprès du public comme en témoignent les plus d'un million d'entrées rien qu'en France (et les 650.000 DVD qui ont suivi).
  • Freccia Azzurra, un conte de Noël, a été vendu dans 85 pays dont les Etats-Unis.
  • Le dessin animé Tristan et Yseult, qui combine animation 2D et 3D, était en compétition au Festival international du film d'animation d'Annecy.

A ce sujet ...



Dernière mise à jour de cette page le : 29-12-2004

Haut de page Haut de page