Note:Your browser doesn't correctly display this page because of a bad stylesheets interpretation. This is probably due to an old browser version.

[Luxembourg 2005 Presidency of the Council of the European Union]
 Version française        

You are here : Home > About Luxembourg > Culture and Media > Art and Culture in Luxembourg
Print this page Send this page

Art and Culture in Luxembourg

Of all the EU Member States, Luxembourg is the least famous when it comes to the arts and culture. Yet the endeavour to promote culture is ongoing: prestigious concerts, renovated and brand new museums, big and small festivals from May to July, fairs, and exhibitions in numbers too great for one to be able to attend all. A small country with lots on offer for those who come without preconceived ideas.

Fine arts
Luxembourg literature


Musée national d'histoire et d'art ,
ZoomMusée national d'histoire et d'art

Luxembourg’s main museums are to be found in the capital.

The National Museum of History and Art (MNHA) can be defined as an encyclopaedic museum. Its archaeology display is spectacular. Modern and contemporary art are well represented, with impressive collections by local artists.

The permanent collection of the History Museum of the City of Luxembourg displays the 1000-year-old history of the capital of the Grand Duchy in an original, multimedia and interactive manner. 

The Casino Luxembourg is a forum of contemporary art created in the wake of Luxembourg European City of Culture 1995. It presents current art in all its diversity and complexity and attempts to provide information and material for reflection necessary to understand it.

The Museum of Modern Art Grand-Duc Jean (MUDAM), designed by the famous architect Ieoh Ming Pei, will soon open its doors near the European district to display its collections of contemporary art.

Fine arts

Su Mei Tse ,
ZoomSu Mei Tse

In Luxembourg, painting and sculpture have been prolific since the beginning of the 20th century. The expressionist painter Joseph Kutter has made his mark on the collective memory with his landscapes and portraits. The MNHA exhibits his works as well as those of his contemporaries. Abstract art broke through after the Second World War with painters influenced by the Paris school. Other painters followed their own individual style, such as Emile Kirscht and Fony Thissen. The sculptures of Lucien Wercollier, whose art blossomed after 1945, can be seen in several public places.

Today, many Luxembourg and foreign artists live in Luxembourg, including painters Jean-Marie Biwer, Robert Brandy, Patricia Lippert, Gast Michels, Moritz Ney, Marc Reckinger, Doris Sander, and sculptors Jeannot Bewing, Marie-Josée Kerschen and Liliane Heidelberger, to name but a few. Their fame sometimes goes beyond all expectations. In June 2003 the Luxembourgish artist Su-Mei Tse won the Golden Lion, a prize awarded to the best national participant at the Venice International Exhibition of Contemporary Art.


Château de Vianden ,
ZoomChâteau de Vianden

Luxembourg was a poor country up until the 20th century. The crudely styled chateaux, manor houses and rural churches dating from before the 17th century bear witness to this. Only a few landholders showed any notable ambition, as revealed by some chateaux, and especially fortified chateaux such as Vianden and Bourscheid, or the abbey-church of Echternach, reconstructed in the 18th century but still dominated by its Romanesque basilica.

There are only a few remaining public edifices dating from before the 17th century, apart from the Grand Duke’s palace, constructed to house the city’s governors, and the Denzelt in Echternach. The old fortress town of Luxembourg, inscribed on the Unesco World Heritage List, reveals a variety of styles of military architecture, dating from the Middle Ages to the first half of the 19th century: doors dating from the 12th and 13th centuries, outer walls from the time of John the Blind, Spanish towers, high walls by Vauban, Austrian forts and Prussian barracks.

Counter-reformation architecture is well illustrated by the ancient part of Luxembourg’s cathedral. In the 18th century, architectural influences from Austria, which vacillate between baroque, rococo and restrained classicism, made their mark on civilian and religious architecture throughout the country.

Under the reign of the kings of the Netherlands, during which the Luxembourg state emerged, town halls, schools and churches characterised by a refined classicism, sprang up in the urban areas.

The demolishing of the Luxembourg fortress forced the authorities to develop new districts in the capital with the help of modern town planners. The Plateau Bourbon was entirely built in an architectural style inspired in perfect unison with developments in Paris and Berlin around 1900. Everywhere, the old forts were embellished with parkland. Civilian buildings of a monumental nature appeared. Other districts were influenced by the ideas of the German town planner Stübben and included wide streets, the creation of public squares and green areas, and the development of gardens.

In the towns of the south of the country, where a leading-edge steel industry flourished at the beginning of the 19th century, commercial centres, industrialists’ residential areas and workers’ housing estates burgeoned, all characterized by a specific architectural conception: extravagant forms in the town centres where new styles abounded, subtle flamboyance in the wealthy districts and rigorous symmetry in the housing estates.

Architecture Kirchberg ,
ZoomArchitecture Kirchberg

Toned-down Bauhaus and late historicism styles rubbed shoulders up until 1945. The 1950s, 1960s and 1970s saw the birth of new districts, blocks of flats and office buildings in the city centre. This evolution, however, did not have the approval of everybody.

At the beginning of the 1980s, discussions regarding the city led to a renewal of ideas and town planning practices. Rules were introduced which ensured that the history of the towns were taken into account, while at the same time allowing freedom of creativity.

In the wake of the post-1985 economic boom, big banks, administrative buildings and cultural infrastructures arose. During this phase of intense architectural creation, some projects were carried out by internationally acclaimed architects: the more recent include the MUDAM, designed by Ieoh Ming Pei, and the Philharmonie building by Christian de Portzamparc.

During this period, purely Luxembourg architecture also enjoyed a new lease of life with leading-edge contemporary architectural projects and creations. 



Luxembourg has seen its symphony orchestra develop considerably during the past 15 years and its musicians enjoy an ever-growing reputation for their musical quality. With the opening of the Philharmonie building in June 2005, the Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra (OPL) will have at its disposal a concert hall that meets the highest standards any musician could hope for. The orchestra’s discography, strongly influenced by 20th century French music, is a world reference.

The Solistes européens, with their more classical repertoire, brought together under the baton of Jack Martin Händler, form the other renowned symphony in the country.

The country has no shortage of international soloists: violinist Sandrine Cantoreggi, cellist Françoise Groben, pianists Francesco Schlimé and Jean Muller, and singer Mariette Kemmer, to name but a few. Among the contemporary composers, Camille Kerger, Claude Lenners, Alex Mullenbach and Marcel Wengler have proved consistent and captivating creators. 

Opera has its enthusiasts throughout the country. The Esch-sur-Alzette and Luxembourg theatres, as well as the Centre des arts pluriels d’Ettelbruck and the open-air theatre of the Wiltz festival, all provide lyric representations for the inhabitants of the region.

Rock music is also well established in Luxembourg and lovers of rock ’n’ roll will soon have their own large, specialized concert hall in the south of the country.

The Echternach festival, the Printemps musical de Luxembourg, Jazz in the City, the musical part of the Wiltz festival, as well as a few well-conceived small festivals such as in Marnach, animate the music scene from May to September. The ambition of the new Philharmonie, which opens its doors in June 2005, is to develop music to new horizons.


Théâtre national du Luxembourg ,
ZoomThéâtre national du Luxembourg

Luxembourgers have a passion for the theatre, whether as spectators or as actors. The country has four public theatres in Luxembourg, Esch and Ettelbruck. The industrious amateur theatre has given rise to many international careers. For several years, attempts have been made to professionalize national theatre production and to enable highly gifted amateurs to cross the barrier. As a result, the quality of productions has improved enormously.

Many Luxembourg actors and producers have had to expatriate to be able to live from their work. Some actors, such as André Jung, Charles Muller, Thierry van Werveke and Myriam Muller, and producers such as Frank Hoffmann, have succeeded abroad while having maintained very close ties with Luxembourg.

Popular open-air theatre based on historical subjects has become very fashionable in recent years, especially in Kehlen and Bourscheid. Thousands of people attend these summer productions, performed almost exclusively by local amateurs.

Luxembourg literature

A publication by the Luxembourg Government’s Information and Press Service outlined very pertinently: "In European literature, Luxembourg appears as a blank page, a vacuum which only a few rare initiated readers outside the Grand Duchy are capable of filling with names of authors and works." So how can we even speak of different Luxembourg literary genres?

That is because Luxembourg authors express themselves along the lines of their own affinities, their education, their subjects and the literary genres they choose in either Luxembourgish, French or German. There are even authors who opted for English.

Livres luxembourgeois ,
ZoomLivres luxembourgeois

What in substance are these literary genres all about? They all arose at more or less the same time, around 1855, at a time when political confrontations incited citizens and authors to express themselves. At that time, literature in Luxembourgish, the language of a people busy finding their bearings within a new state, prevailed among the public. 

Michel Lentz (1820-1893) composed patriotic songs, one of which became the national anthem.

Edmond de la Fontaine (1823-1891), also known as Dicks, wrote vaudevilles accompanied by melodies typical of his style, whose words, characters and tunes continue to form part of the collective memory.

Michel Rodange (1827-1876), whose different jobs led him to live all over the country, composed a fable modelled on the Roman du Renart, an epic tale which mirrored a country marked by political vote-catching and sanctimonious hypocrisy, and which readers took several decades to accept.

A second phase in the development of Luxembourg literature occurred between the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the First World War. German, the language of the main economic partner, was prevalent. Playwrights and novelists of the time, namely Nikolaus Welter (1871-1951) and Batty Weber (1860-1940) had works published by the big German publishing houses. They subscribed to pathetic realism which was very fashionable in Germany at that time.

The postwar period saw the emergence of Romanesque literature in French and the appearance of lyrical poetry in German.

Modern Luxembourg literature took shape timidly from the 1950s and 1960s, firstly in German and French through poetry and short texts. The major turning point came at the end of the 1970s and at the beginning of the 1980s when more substantial fictional writing was published, marking the outline for future novels. Soon novels appeared in a modern Luxembourg, freed of its rural and folkloristic ties. 

Guy Rewenig (born in 1947) launched the movement with his Hannert dem Atlantik (1985). He was followed by Roger Manderscheid (born in 1933) whose novel Schacko Klak, which tells the family souvenirs of a young boy from the outskirts of the capital between 1939 et 1945, became a best-seller with the Luxembourg public. Since then, the Luxembourg novel has existed in all forms: autobiographical, experimental, dreamlike, thriller. Luxembourg, French and German literature followed suite.

Although prolific, Luxembourg literature remains unknown at European level. But for several decades it has had the merit of existing and developing. It is only a matter of time before it is discovered by other Europeans. To this effect, the National Centre of Literature has been working for a decade and publishing a series of critiques on the great works of Luxembourg literature.


Mosaique de Vichten ,
ZoomMosaique de Vichten

Luxembourg has a number of archaeological sites dating from the Palaeolithic to Merovingian epochs. Some have been opened to visitors. The immense archaeological site (oppidum of the Treviri) on the Titelberg in the south of the country is accessible on foot. Reconstructed Roman funeral monuments are scattered throughout the east of the country. The great Roman villa in Echternach provides the setting for an information centre on life during the Gallo-Roman period. Some parts, including a theatre for 3,500 spectators of the Roman vicus Ricciacus, situated within the territory of the Dalheim town council, can be visited at certain times of the year. A copy of the Vichten mosaic dating from the 3rd century, which depicts over a surface of 60 m2 Homer surrounded by the nine muses, was installed in the reception area of the town hall.

Today the MNHA houses treasures such as the Hellange ceremonial helmet and the Vichten Gallo-Roman mosaic, which has become the main showpiece of the renovated museum, reopened in 2002.                  

The curators of the MNHA have made tremendous efforts to display the results of the excavations through reconstructions of habitations of the Neolithic and Bronze Age. The reconstitution of aristocratic Celtic funeral chambers of Iron Age, and the exhibition of the trevire nobility funeral furniture, dating from before and after the Roman conquest, are the highlights of the archaeological activity which forms part of the wider network of European research.

This page was last modified on : 26-01-2005

Top Top

Note: Votre navigateur n'affiche pas correctement ce site parce qu'il s'agit d'une version relativement ancienne d'un navigateur ou parce qu'il ne respecte pas les standards généralement préconisés pour les pages web. Pour en savoir plus lisez nos notes de conception.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Présidence du Conseil de l'Union européenne]
 English version        
 

Chemin de navigation : Accueil > Tout savoir sur le Luxembourg > Culture et médias > Les arts et la culture au Luxembourg
Imprimer cette page Envoyer cette page

Les arts et la culture au Luxembourg

Dans le domaine des arts et de la culture, le Luxembourg n’est pas le pays le plus connu parmi les Etats membres de l’Union européenne. L’effort culturel, on le découvre cependant à tout bout de champ: concerts prestigieux, des musées rénovés et des musées tout nouveaux, de grands et de petits festivals entre mai et juillet, des fêtes, des expositions plus que l’agenda d’un seul individu ne saurait en contenir. Petit pays, grande offre pour celui qui l’aborde sans idées préconçues.

Les musées
Les arts plastiques
L'architecture
La musique
Le théâtre
Les littératures luxembourgeoises
L'archéologie

Les musées

Musée national d'histoire et d'art ,
ZoomMusée national d'histoire et d'art

Les principaux musées du Luxembourg sont regroupés dans la capitale.

Le Musée national d'histoire et d'art (MNHA) s’entend comme un musée encyclopédique. L'archéologie y est présentée de manière spectaculaire. L'art moderne et contemporain y occupe une place non négligeable avec des peintres locaux qui surprendront celui qui n’a pas de préjugés.

La collection permanente du Musée d'histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, quant à elle, illustre de façon originale, multimédiale et interactive l'histoire plus que millénaire de la capitale du Grand-Duché.

Le Casino Luxembourg est un forum d’art contemporain né à la suite de Luxembourg, ville européenne de la culture 1995. Il présente l'art d'aujourd'hui dans sa diversité et sa complexité et essaie de fournir les informations et les éléments de réflexion nécessaires à sa compréhension.

Le Musée d’art moderne Grand-Duc Jean (MUDAM), dont les bâtiments ont été conçus par le grand architecte Ieoh Ming Pei, va bientôt ouvrir ses portes à côté du quartier européen pour présenter ses collections d’art contemporain.

Les arts plastiques

Su Mei Tse ,
ZoomSu Mei Tse

Le Luxembourg est un pays où l’on sculpte et peint beaucoup depuis les débuts du XXe siècle. Le peintre expressionniste Joseph Kutter a marqué la mémoire collective avec ses paysages et ses portraits. Le MNHA expose cet artiste tout comme ses contemporains. L’art abstrait perce après la Seconde Guerre mondiale avec des peintres influencés par l’école de Paris. D’autres peintres prennent leur chemin propre comme Emile Kirscht ou Fony Thissen. Les sculptures de Lucien Wercollier, dont l’art éclot après 1945, sont visibles en de nombreux lieux publics.

Aujourd’hui, de nombreux artistes luxembourgeois et étrangers vivent au Luxembourg, parmi eux les peintres Jean-Marie Biwer, Robert Brandy, Patricia Lippert, Gast Michels, Moritz Ney, Marc Reckinger, Doris Sander, et les sculpteurs Jeannot Bewing, Marie-Josée Kerschen ou Liliane Heidelberger, pour ne citer qu’eux. Parfois, la notoriété de ces artistes dépasse le cadre habituel. En juin 2003, l’artiste luxembourgeoise Su-Mei Tse remporte à Venise le Lion d'or des pavillons nationaux, prix récompensant la meilleure participation nationale à l'exposition internationale d'art contemporain de Venise.

L’architecture

Château de Vianden ,
ZoomChâteau de Vianden

Le Luxembourg était un pays pauvre jusqu’au XXe siècle. Les châteaux et manoirs ou l’architecture fruste des églises rurales d’avant le XVIIe siècle en témoignent. Seuls témoins de l’ambition plus exceptionnelle de leurs propriétaires sont quelques châteaux et surtout châteaux forts, comme à Vianden et à Bourscheid, ou l’ensemble abbatial d’Echternach, reconstruit au XVIIIe siècle, mais qui est toujours dominé par sa basilique romane.

Il ne reste que peu d’édifices civils importants d’avant le XVIIe siècle, hormis le palais grand-ducal construit comme siège des autorités de la Ville, ou le Dënzelt à Echternach. L’ancienne forteresse qu’était la ville de Luxembourg, classée patrimoine de l’humanité par l’Unesco, décline aujourd’hui toutes les époques de l’architecture militaire, du Moyen Âge à la première moitié du XIXe siècle: portes qui remontent au XIIe et XIIIe siècles, enceintes de l'époque de Jean l’Aveugle, tours espagnoles, murailles de Vauban, forts autrichiens, casernes prussiennes.

L’architecture religieuse de la contre-réforme est bien illustrée par la partie ancienne de la cathédrale de Luxembourg. Au XVIIIe siècle, une architecture tout droit venue d’Autriche qui oscille entre le baroque, le rococo et un classicisme retenu marque l’architecture civile et religieuse à travers tout le pays.

Sous le règne des rois des Pays-Bas, qui accompagne l’émergence de l’Etat luxembourgeois, mairies, écoles et églises marquées par un classicisme épuré surgissent dans les agglomérations.

Le démantèlement de la forteresse de Luxembourg oblige les autorités à développer les nouveaux quartiers de la capitale avec des urbanistes modernes. Le plateau Bourbon est entièrement construit dans un style architectural qui s’inspire, dans une parfaite unité, de ce qui se faisait autour de 1900 à Paris et à Berlin. Partout, les anciens forts sont recouverts par des parcs. Des édifices civils à caractère monumental voient le jour. D’autres quartiers bénéficient des idées de l’urbaniste allemand Stübben, avec des allées larges, la création de places et d’espaces verts, l’aménagement de jardins et de jardinets.

Dans les villes du sud du pays, où s’épanouit depuis la fin du XIXe siècle une sidérurgie à la pointe du progrès, naissent des artères commerciales, des quartiers pour les cadres de l’industrie et des cités ouvrières qui sont tous marqués par une conception architecturale bien déterminée: fantaisie des formes - le style nouveau abonde - dans les centres des villes, discrète ostentation dans les quartiers huppés, rigueur alignée dans les cités.

Architecture Kirchberg ,
ZoomArchitecture Kirchberg

Bauhaus édulcoré et style historiciste tardif vont se côtoyer jusqu’en 1945. Les années 1950, 1960 et 1970 voient naître les nouveaux quartiers, les maisons d’appartements, les immeubles à bureaux dans le centre de la ville. Cette évolution ne fait pas l’unanimité. 

Au début des années 1980, la discussion sur la ville conduit à un renouveau de la pensée et de la pratique urbanistique. On se donne des règles qui tiennent compte de l’histoire des villes tout en laissant libre cours à la créativité.

L’envol économique d’après 1985 aidant, naissent des immeubles de grandes banques, des immeubles administratifs ou des infrastructures culturelles. Dans cette phase de création architecturale intense, certains projets sont réalisés par des architectes de renommée internationale: parmi les derniers en date le MUDAM, conçu par Ieoh Ming Pei ou la Philharmonie de Christian de Portzamparc.

Dans cette période, la création architecturale proprement luxembourgeoise connaît également un nouvel essor avec des projets et des réalisations à la pointe de l’architecture contemporaine. 

La musique

OPL ,
ZoomOPL

Le Luxembourg est depuis une quinzaine d’années le témoin de la transformation d’un bon orchestre symphonique en une phalange dont la qualité et la réputation vont croissant. En juin 2005, l’Orchestre philharmonique du Luxembourg (OPL) disposera avec l’ouverture de la Philharmonie d’une salle de concert qui remplira toutes les exigences qu’un musicien d’orchestre peut formuler. Sa discographie, fortement empreinte de la promotion de la musique française du XXe siècle, est une référence dans le monde du disque.

Les Solistes européens regroupés autour du chef Jack Martin Händler, au répertoire plus classique, constituent l’autre formation symphonique de renom du pays.

Le pays ne manque pas de solistes internationaux: Sandrine Cantoreggi pour le violon, Françoise Groben pour le violoncelle, Francesco Schlimé et Jean Muller pour le piano, Mariette Kemmer pour le chant, pour ne citer qu’eux. Parmi les compositeurs contemporains, Camille Kerger, Claude Lenners, Alex Mullenbach ou Marcel Wengler se sont révélés être des créateurs conséquents et prenants.

L’opéra a ses passionnés dans tout le pays. Les théâtres d’Esch-sur-Alzette et de Luxembourg ainsi que le Centre des arts pluriels d’Ettelbruck sont, avec la scène en plein-air du festival de Wiltz, les lieux où les habitants de la région peuvent assister à des représentations lyriques.

Le rock a aussi droit de cité au Luxembourg. Les amateurs de rock disposeront bientôt d’une très grande salle de concert spécialisée dans le sud du pays.

Le Festival d’Echternach, le Printemps musical de Luxembourg, Jazz in the City, la partie musicale du festival de Wiltz, ainsi que quelques petits festivals très étudiés comme celui de Marnach, animent la scène musicale de mai à septembre. La nouvelle Philharmonie, qui ouvrira ses portes en juin 2005, a pour ambition de faire évoluer la vie musicale vers de nouveaux horizons.

Le théâtre

Théâtre national du Luxembourg ,
ZoomThéâtre national du Luxembourg

Les Luxembourgeois sont des passionnés de théâtre, comme spectateurs et... comme acteurs. Le pays compte quatre théâtres publics à Luxembourg, Esch et Ettelbruck. Le théâtre d’amateurs, assidûment pratiqué, a suscité mainte vocation qui s’est prolongée sur les scènes internationales. Depuis quelques années, des efforts sont entrepris pour professionnaliser la production théâtrale nationale et pour permettre aussi à des amateurs hautement doués de passer de l’autre côté de la barrière. La qualité des productions a énormément progressé.

De nombreux acteurs et metteurs en scène luxembourgeois ont dû s’expatrier pour vivre de leur métier. Certains comme André Jung, Charles Muller, Thierry van Werveke ou Myriam Muller parmi les acteurs, ou comme Frank Hoffmann parmi les metteurs en scène, ont particulièrement bien réussi à l'étranger tout en gardant des liens intenses avec le Luxembourg.

Le théâtre populaire en plein-air autour de sujets historiques est très en vogue depuis quelques années, notamment à Kehlen et à Bourscheid. Plusieurs milliers de personnes assistent à ces productions estivales presque entièrement assurées par des amateurs issus de la population locale.

Les littératures luxembourgeoises

Une publication du Service information et presse du gouvernement luxembourgeois dit très justement: "Dans la littérature européenne, le Luxembourg apparaît comme une page blanche, un vide qu’en dehors du Grand-Duché seuls quelques rares initiés sont capables de remplir avec des noms d’auteurs et d’œuvres." Alors pourquoi parler de surcroît de littératures luxembourgeoises?

C’est que les auteurs luxembourgeois s’expriment selon leurs affinités, leur éducation, leurs sujets et les genres littéraires qu’ils ont choisis soit en luxembourgeois, soit en français, soit en allemand. Il y a même des auteurs qui ont opté pour l’anglais.

Livres luxembourgeois ,
ZoomLivres luxembourgeois

Qu’en est-il de ces littératures? Elles naissent en fait toutes plus ou moins en même temps, autour de 1855, à une époque où les confrontations politiques incitent citoyens et auteurs à s’exprimer. A ce moment-là, c’est la littérature en langue luxembourgeoise, la langue d’un peuple qui trouve ses marques dans un nouvel Etat, qui prévaut auprès du public.

Michel Lentz (1820-1893) compose des chants patriotiques dont l’un deviendra l’hymne national.

Edmond de la Fontaine (1823-1891), dit Dicks, écrit des vaudevilles agrémentés de mélodies de son cru dont les bons mots, les personnages et les mélodies continuent de faire partie de la mémoire collective.

Michel Rodange (1827-1876), que ses différents gagne-pain amènent à vivre dans tout le pays, composera sur le modèle du Roman du Renart une fable épique qui tend au pays, marqué par le clientélisme politique et l’hypocrisie bigote, un miroir que les lecteurs mettront de nombreuses décennies à assumer.

Une deuxième phase dans le développement de la littérature luxembourgeoise se situe entre la fin du XIXe siècle et le début de la Première Guerre mondiale. La langue allemande, la langue du principal partenaire économique, prévaut. Les dramaturges et romanciers de l’époque, notamment Nikolaus Welter (1871-1951) et Batty Weber (1860-1940) sont publiés par de grandes maisons allemandes. Ils se rattachent à un réalisme pathétique très en vogue outre-Moselle.

L’après-guerre voit l’émergence d’une littérature romanesque écrite en français et l’éclosion d’une production de poésie lyrique en langue allemande.

La littérature moderne du Luxembourg n'éclot que timidement à partir des années 1950 et 1960, d’abord en allemand et en français à travers la poésie et des textes courts. Le grand tournant survient à la fin des années 1970 et au début des années 1980. Des textes de fiction de plus en plus longs sont publiés, en fait des ébauches de roman. Bientôt, des romans écrits dans un luxembourgeois moderne libéré de ses liens ruraux et folkloriques paraissent.

Guy Rewenig (né en 1947) lance le mouvement avec Hannert dem Atlantik (1985). Il est suivi par Roger Manderscheid  (né en 1933) dont le roman Schacko Klak, qui relate les souvenirs familiaux d’un jeune garçon des environs de la capitale entre 1939 et 1945, devient un best-seller auprès du public luxembourgeois. Depuis lors, le roman de langue luxembourgeoise existe dans toutes les variantes: autobiographique, expérimental, onirique, roman noir. Les littératures luxembourgeoises d’expression allemande et française ont suivi le mouvement.

Bien que prolifique, la littérature luxembourgeoise demeure une grande inconnue au niveau européen. Mais depuis quelques dizaines d’années, elle a le mérite d’exister et de se développer. Sa découverte par les autres Européens est une question de temps. C’est en tout cas dans ce sens qu’œuvre le Centre national de littérature qui publie depuis une dizaine d’années une série d’éditions critiques des grands textes de la littérature du Luxembourg.

L’archéologie

Mosaique de Vichten ,
ZoomMosaique de Vichten

Le Luxembourg compte nombre de sites archéologiques, du paléolithique à l’époque mérovingienne. Certains ont été aménagés pour pouvoir être visités. L’immense oppidum des Trévires sur le Titelberg dans le sud du pays est accessible à pied. Des monuments funéraires romains reconstitués sont parsemés dans l’est du pays. La grande villa romaine d’Echternach sert de cadre à un centre d’information sur la vie quotidienne à l’époque gallo-romaine. Des parties, dont un théâtre pour 3.500 spectateurs du vicus romain Ricciacus situé sur le territoire de la commune de Dalheim, peuvent être visitées à certains moments de l’année. Une copie de la mosaïque de Vichten datant du IIIe siècle, qui représente sur une surface de 60 m2 Homère entouré des neuf muses, a été installée dans la salle de réception de la mairie.

Le MNHA abrite aujourd’hui quelques trésors, comme le casque d’apparat de Hellange ou la mosaïque gallo-romaine de Vichten qui est devenue la pièce centrale du musée rénové ayant rouvert ses portes en 2002.

Les animateurs du MNHA ont entrepris d’immenses efforts pour rendre visibles les résultats des fouilles par des reconstructions d’habitats du néolithique et de l’âge de bronze. La reconstitution de chambres funéraires d’aristocrates celtiques de l’âge du fer ancien, l’exposition des mobiliers funéraires de la noblesse trévire avant et après la conquête romaine sont des points forts de la visibilité d’une activité archéologique qui s’intègre dans un réseau de recherche européen.




Dernière mise à jour de cette page le : 26-01-2005

Haut de page Haut de page