Note:Your browser doesn't correctly display this page because of a bad stylesheets interpretation. This is probably due to an old browser version.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Presidency of the Council of the European Union]
  |  
 Version française        
 

Download

Click here to download the photos of the members of the Luxembourg Government

Print this page Send this page

Jean-Claude Juncker

Prime Minister
Minister of Finance

Born on 9 December 1954 in Redange-sur-Attert in western Luxembourg, Jean-Claude Juncker spent his childhood and youth in the south of the country, in Belvaux, where his father was employed in one of the big steel plants. Life in this area, the stronghold of Luxembourg’s socialist and communist movements, with a high population of Italian and Portuguese immigrants, had a strong impact on the young student who soon became familiar with the realities of the workplace through his father’s union activities within the Luxembourg Confederation of Christian Trade Unions.

After completing his secondary education at the Clairefontaine boarding school in Belgium and obtaining his baccalauréat at the Lycée Michel Rodange in Luxembourg in 1974, Jean-Claude Juncker enrolled at the Faculty of Law of the Université de Strasbourg in 1975. For four years, he studied "without enthusiasm" although this didn’t prevent him from obtaining a Master's in Law in 1979. He was sworn in as a barrister in February 1980 but in fact never practised this profession. It was also in this major city of Alsace that Jean-Claude Juncker met his future wife, Christiane Frising.

He had already been politically active as a member of the Christian Social Party (Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei / CSV) since 1974 and attracted the attention of the party leaders, mainly due to his talents as an orator and his analytical mind, when he became the party’s parliamentary secretary in October 1979. Thereafter he rose swiftly and when a Government post became free in December 1982, the Minister of Finance at the time, Jacques Santer, got the Prime Minister Pierre Werner to allow the young Jean-Claude Juncker to be appointed, a few days before his 28th birthday, as State Secretary for Labour and Social Security, two tasks in line with his favourite political domains.

In June 1984, Jean-Claude Juncker was elected to the Luxembourg Parliament (Chamber of Deputies) for the first time. He was appointed Minister for Labour and Minister in charge of the Budget in Jacques Santer’s first Government.

In 1985, Luxembourg held the presidency of the Council of the European Communities and Jean-Claude Juncker therefore chaired the "Social Affairs" and "Budget" Councils. This period also marked the start of Jean-Claude Juncker’s firmly pro-European stance, which stemmed from the deep conviction that European integration was the only key to guaranteeing lasting peace in Europe and thus preventing the dramas and tragedies of the past with which he was all too familiar. In fact, his father had been forcibly enrolled in the German Wehrmacht during the Second World War and dispatched to the Russian front.

Following the general election held in June 1989, Jean-Claude Juncker entered a new phase of his political career when he was appointed Minister of Finance and Minister of Labour. As the Finance portfolio was traditionally regarded as an obligatory rite of passage for future Luxembourg Prime Ministers, the country’s political observers were all stating that Jean-Claude Juncker could now be regarded as Jacques Santer’s successor.

It was in fact during the 1989-1994 legislature that Jean-Claude Juncker was to definitively prove himself as an outstanding politician and statesman, both at national and European level. In 1991, in the seat of chairman of the "Ecofin" Council, Jean-Claude Juncker became one of the main architects of the Maastricht Treaty, especially the section relating to economic and monetary union, large passages of which were drafted by his own hand. It was also he who saved the EMU negotiations in May 1991 at an informal meeting in Luxembourg of the Ministers of Finance of the 12 Member Sates, by establishing the "opt out" principle for the UK. In February 1992, Jean-Claude Juncker was one of the signatories of the Maastricht Treaty.

However Jean-Claude Juncker’s career could have come to a dramatic end at this moment in time. After a serious road accident in autumn 1989, he was left in a critical condition and fell into a coma from which he didn’t emerge until two weeks later.

In the national arena, Jean-Claude Juncker started preparing in 1992 for the most extensive tax reform that the country had ever known. The tax reforms came into force on 1 January 1993.

Between January 1990 and February 1995, Jean-Claude Juncker was also chairman of the Christian Social Party.

In June 1994, Jean-Claude Juncker was re-elected to Parliament and retained his duties as Minister of Finance and Minister of Labour. On 20 January 1995, after the Prime Minister Jacques Santer had been nominated as President of the European Commission by the European Council and confirmed in this post by the European Parliament, Jean-Claude Juncker was appointed Prime Minister by HRH Grand Duke Jean. Even as head of Government, he continued to fulfil the roles of Minister of Finance, Minister of Labour and Employment and Minister for the Treasury.

Once he became the Government leader, Jean-Claude Juncker broke new ground by getting more involved in representing Luxembourg abroad. He went on numerous official visits and work trips around the world, often taking a large economic delegation with him. Thanks to his initiative, political and economic links with many countries were strengthened. Particular importance was attributed to development cooperation with the target countries of Luxembourg Cooperation. By 2001, Luxembourg was among the top five countries most involved in development cooperation, with 0.8% of its GDP.

In December 1996, the international press headlines dubbed Jean-Claude Juncker the "Hero of Dublin", for his successful handling of a tricky mediation between the German Federal Chancellor, Helmut Kohl, and the President of the French Republic, Jacques Chirac, concerning the stability pact accompanying economic and monetary union.

Luxembourg’s Presidency of the Council of the European Union in the latter half of 1997 gave Jean-Claude Juncker an opportunity to reveal his ambitions for a more social Europe. The Extraordinary European Council on Employment in November 1997 saw the introduction of the Luxembourg process requiring member countries to submit an annual action plan for promoting employment and to fulfil quantified and verifiable criteria in terms of creating jobs and combating unemployment.

A month later, at the European Council in Luxembourg, the European Union opened its doors to Eastern expansion. The same summit saw the creation of the Euro 11, the informal group of Finance Ministers participating in economic and monetary union, since renamed the Eurogroup.

In June 1999, the Christian Social Party triumphed once more in the general election and Jean-Claude Juncker became Prime Minister of a Government composed of representatives of the Christian Social Party and the Democratic Party, putting an end to a 15-year coalition between the Christian Social Party and the Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party. Jean-Claude Juncker kept the Finance and Communications portfolios.

On 6 July 2001, the Faculty of Philosophy at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität in Munster, Germany, awarded Jean-Claude Juncker the title of Doctor Honoris Causa. On 14 April 2003, he was also granted the title of Doctor Honoris Causa by the University of Bucharest for his merits in the construction of Europe. Since January 2004, Jean-Claude Juncker has also held the title of Doctor Honoris Causa from the University of Thrace.

On 5 February 2002, Jean-Claude Juncker was admitted to the order of the grand officier de la Légion d'honneur by the President of the French Republic, Jacques Chirac, at the Élysée Palace in Paris. The Romanian head of State, Ion Ilescu, also presented him, on 13 April 2003, with the highest Romanian honour, the badge of the Grand Cross of the Order of the Star, for his unfailing energetic support for Romania joining NATO and the EU.

Lastly, since May 2003, Jean-Claude Juncker has been an honorary citizen of the town of Trier and since January 2004 an honorary citizen of Orestiada, a town situated in north-eastern Greece, in the Thrace region.

On 31 July 2004, Jean-Claude Juncker was reappointed Prime Minister and Minister of Finance in the Government resulting from the general election held on 13 June 2004, in which he obtained a record personal score. The Government he has been running since that date is composed of the Christian Social Party (Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei/ CSV) and the Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Arbechertpartei/ LSAP).

At the informal "Ecofin" meeting in Scheveningen on 10 September 2004, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Jean-Claude Juncker was elected President of the Eurogroup, the informal meeting of the Ministers of Finance of the Euro area. Mr Juncker thus became the first elected and permanent President of the Eurogroup. His mandate starts on 1 January 2005 and ends on 31 December 2006. It is renewable once.

Having been governor of the World Bank from 1989 to 1995, Jean-Claude Juncker has acted, since 1995, as governor of the International Monetary Fund and governor of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD).

This page was last modified on : 29-12-2004

Top Top

Note: Votre navigateur n'affiche pas correctement ce site parce qu'il s'agit d'une version relativement ancienne d'un navigateur ou parce qu'il ne respecte pas les standards généralement préconisés pour les pages web. Pour en savoir plus lisez nos notes de conception.

 
[Luxembourg 2005 Présidence du Conseil de l'Union européenne]
  |  
 English version        
 

Téléchargement

Cliquer ici pour télécharger les photos des membres du gouvernement luxembourgeois

Chemin de navigation : Accueil > La Présidence luxembourgeoise > Les membres du gouvernement luxembourgeois > Jean-Claude Juncker
Imprimer cette page Envoyer cette page

Jean-Claude Juncker

Premier ministre
Ministre d'État
Ministre des Finances

Né le 9 décembre 1954 à Redange-sur-Attert dans l'ouest du Luxembourg, Jean-Claude Juncker passe son enfance et sa jeunesse dans le sud du pays, à Belvaux, où son père est employé dans une des grandes usines sidérurgiques. La vie dans cette région, le fief des mouvements socialiste et communiste luxembourgeois et comptant une forte population d'immigrés italiens et portugais, ne laisse pas indifférent le jeune élève qui, par les activités syndicales de son père au sein de la Confédération syndicale chrétienne luxembourgeoise, se familiarise rapidement avec les réalités du monde du travail.

Après avoir fait ses études secondaires à l'internat de Clairefontaine, en Belgique, et obtenu son baccalauréat au lycée Michel Rodange de Luxembourg en 1974, Jean-Claude Juncker s'inscrit à la faculté de droit de l'université de Strasbourg en 1975. Pendant quatre ans, il suit ses études "sans enthousiasme" ce qui ne l'empêche pas d'obtenir une maîtrise de droit en 1979. Il est assermenté comme avocat en février 1980 mais n'exerce, en fait, jamais ce métier. C'est également dans la métropole alsacienne que Jean-Claude Juncker rencontre sa future épouse, Christiane Frising.

Déjà politiquement engagé en tant que membre du Parti chrétien-social (Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei / CSV) depuis 1974 et ayant attiré l'attention de la direction du parti notamment par son talent d'orateur et son esprit d'analyse, il devient, en octobre 1979, le secrétaire parlementaire du parti. De là son ascension est fulgurante et quand un poste gouvernemental se libère en décembre 1982, le ministre des Finances de l'époque, Jacques Santer, obtient du Premier ministre Pierre Werner que le jeune Jean-Claude Juncker soit nommé, quelques jours avant son 28e anniversaire, secrétaire d'État au Travail et à la Sécurité sociale, deux fonctions correspondant à ses domaines politiques de prédilection.

En juin 1984, Jean-Claude Juncker est élu pour la première fois au Parlement luxembourgeois (Chambre des députés). Il est nommé ministre du Travail et ministre délégué au Budget du premier gouvernement de Jacques Santer.

En 1985, le Luxembourg exerce la Présidence du Conseil des Communautés européennes et Jean-Claude Juncker préside ainsi les Conseils "Affaires sociales" et "Budget". Cette période marque également le début de l'engagement résolument pro-européen de Jean-Claude Juncker, un engagement dû à la conviction intime que l'intégration européenne seule saura garantir une pacification définitive de l'Europe et éviter ainsi les drames et tragédies du passé que Jean-Claude Juncker connaît bien. En effet, son père a été enrôlé de force dans la Wehrmacht allemande pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et envoyé au front russe.

Après les élections législatives de juin 1989, Jean-Claude Juncker franchit une nouvelle étape de sa carrière politique lorsqu’il est nommé ministre des Finances et ministre du Travail. Le portefeuille des Finances étant traditionnellement considéré comme examen de passage obligatoire pour les futurs Premiers ministres luxembourgeois, tous les observateurs politiques du pays s'accordent à dire que Jean-Claude Juncker peut désormais être considéré comme le dauphin de Jacques Santer.

C'est d'ailleurs pendant la législature 1989-1994 que Jean-Claude Juncker va définitivement faire ses preuves d'homme politique et d'État hors du commun, aussi bien au niveau national qu'européen. En 1991, en tant que président en exercice du Conseil "Écofin", Jean-Claude Juncker devient un des principaux artisans du traité de Maastricht, notamment du volet touchant à l'Union économique et monétaire, dont il a rédigé lui-même de larges passages. C'est encore lui qui sauve les négociations sur l'UEM en mai 1991 lors d'une réunion informelle des ministres des Finances des Douze à Luxembourg, en créant le principe du "opting out" pour le Royaume-Uni. En février 1992, Jean-Claude Juncker est un des signataires du traité de Maastricht.

Et pourtant la carrière de Jean-Claude Juncker aurait pu connaître une fin dramatique en cette période. Après un grave accident de la circulation en automne 1989, il est dans un état critique et tombe dans le coma. Il n’en ressort que deux semaines plus tard.

Sur le plan national, Jean-Claude Juncker entame en 1992 les travaux préparatoires pour la plus grande réforme fiscale que le pays ait jamais connu. La réforme fiscale entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 1993.

Entre janvier 1990 et février 1995, Jean-Claude Juncker assume également la présidence du Parti chrétien-social.

En juin 1994, Jean-Claude Juncker est réélu au Parlement et garde ses fonctions de ministre des Finances et ministre du Travail. Le 20 janvier 1995, après la désignation du Premier ministre Jacques Santer comme président de la Commission européenne par le Conseil européen et sa confirmation à ce poste par le Parlement européen, Jean-Claude Juncker est nommé Premier ministre, ministre d'État par S.A.R. le Grand-Duc Jean. En tant que chef du gouvernement, il continue cependant à exercer les fonctions de ministre des Finances, ministre du Travail et de l'Emploi et ministre du Trésor.

Une fois à la tête du gouvernement, Jean-Claude Juncker innove en s'impliquant davantage dans la représentation du Luxembourg à l'étranger. Il effectue de nombreuses visites officielles et des visites de travail à travers le monde, emmenant souvent une importante délégation économique. Sous son impulsion, les liens politiques et économiques avec de nombreux pays sont intensifiés. Une importance particulière est accordée à la coopération au développement avec les pays cibles de la Coopération luxembourgeoise. Dès 2001, le Luxembourg se place parmi les cinq premiers pays les plus engagés en termes de coopération au développement, avec 0,8% de son PIB.

En décembre 1996, Jean-Claude Juncker devient le "héros de Dublin" d’après les titres de la presse internationale, en réussissant une médiation délicate entre le chancelier fédéral allemand, Helmut Kohl, et le président de la République française, Jacques Chirac, au sujet du pacte de stabilité accompagnant l'Union économique et monétaire.

La Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l’Union européenne au deuxième semestre 1997 fournit à Jean-Claude Juncker l'occasion de mettre en évidence ses ambitions pour une Europe plus sociale. Le Conseil européen extraordinaire sur l'Emploi, en novembre 1997, voit ainsi la naissance du processus de Luxembourg, obligeant les pays membres à soumettre annuellement un plan d'action en faveur de l'emploi et à remplir des critères quantifiés et vérifiables en termes de création d'emploi et de lutte contre le chômage.

Un mois plus tard, lors du Conseil européen de Luxembourg, l'Union européenne ouvre ses portes à l'élargissement vers l'est. Le même sommet voit la création de l'Euro 11, le groupe informel des ministres des Finances participant à l'Union économique et monétaire, rebaptisé Eurogroupe depuis.

En juin 1999, le Parti chrétien-social sort à nouveau vainqueur des élections législatives et Jean-Claude Juncker devient Premier ministre d’un gouvernement composé de représentants du Parti chrétien-social et du Parti démocratique qui met fin à une coalition gouvernementale de 15 ans entre le Parti chrétien-social et le Parti socialiste ouvrier luxembourgeois. Jean-Claude Juncker garde les portefeuilles des Finances et des Communications.

Le 6 juillet 2001, la faculté de philosophie de la Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität à Münster, en Allemagne, attribue à Jean-Claude Juncker le titre de docteur honoris causa. Le 14 avril 2003, il se voit également décerner le titre de docteur  honoris causa par l’université de Bucarest pour ses mérites dans la construction européenne. Depuis janvier 2004, Jean-Claude Juncker porte également le titre docteur  honoris causa de l'université de Thrace.

Le 5 février 2002, Jean-Claude Juncker est admis à l'ordre du grand officier de la Légion d'honneur par le président de la République française Jacques Chirac au palais de l'Élysée à Paris. Le chef d’État roumain Ion Ilescu lui remet, par ailleurs, le 13 avril 2003, la plus haute distinction honorifique de la Roumanie, les insignes de la grand-croix de l’Étoile, pour son soutien dynamique et infaillible à l’adhésion de la Roumanie à l’OTAN et à l’UE.

Enfin, Jean-Claude Juncker est, depuis mai 2003, citoyen d’honneur de la ville de Trèves et, depuis janvier 2004, citoyen d’honneur d’Orestiada, ville située au nord-est de la Grèce dans la région de Thrace.

Le 31 juillet 2004, Jean-Claude Juncker est reconduit dans ses fonctions de Premier ministre, ministre d'État, ministre des Finances dans le gouvernement issu des élections législatives du 13 juin 2004 où il a obtenu un score personnel record. Le gouvernement qu'il préside à partir de cette date est composé du Parti chrétien-social (Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei / CSV) et du Parti ouvrier socialiste luxembourgeois (Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Arbechterpartei / LSAP).

Lors de la réunion de l’Eurogroupe à Scheveningen, le 10 septembre 2004, le Premier ministre et ministre des Finances luxembourgeois Jean-Claude Juncker est élu premier président de la réunion informelle des ministres des Finances des pays membres de la zone euro. Jean-Claude Juncker est ainsi à partir du 1er janvier 2005 le premier président permanent de l’Eurogroupe. Son mandat s’achèvera le 31 décembre 2006.

Après avoir été gouverneur de la Banque mondiale de 1989 à 1995, Jean-Claude Juncker assume, par ailleurs, depuis 1995,  la responsabilité de gouverneur du Fonds monétaire international et de gouverneur de la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement (BERD).



Dernière mise à jour de cette page le : 29-12-2004

Haut de page Haut de page