The Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2005

The Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2005

URL (Internet address) : http://www.eu2005.lu/en/presidence/la_presidence/rotation_presidence/

Back to the origin page

Rotation of the Presidency

The Presidency of the Council of the European Union is organised on the basis of a half-yearly rotation system, whereby each Member State holds the Presidency for a period of six months. Exercising the Presidency involves both a duty and a specific contribution of each Member State to ensure the smooth functioning of the Community institutions. In the Union of the 15, a Member State exercised the Presidency every seven-and-a-half years.

Within the framework of the institutional part of adhesion negotiations, it was decided that the rotation order between the current 15 Member States would be maintained until 2006, thus giving the 10 new members a minimum time of adaptation and preparation before holding the Presidency of the Council themselves.

Luxembourg is holding the Presidency during the first six months of 2005. It will be followed by the United Kingdom during the second half of 2005. Austria and Finland will complete the cycle in 2006. After the ratification of Constitution for Europe, this Presidency system will be changed.

The Constitution for Europe, which still has to be ratified, allows for the Council to sit in several formations. The European Council, however, will be presided over by a president elected by the European Council for two-and-a-half years and will represent the European Union abroad in matters relating to common foreign and security policy. The Council of Foreign Affairs will be presided over by a minister for foreign affairs appointed by the European Council. The Presidency of the other formations will be provided by the representatives of the Member States according to a system of equal rotation.



Last update of this page on : 29-12-2004

La Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l'Union européenne 2005

La Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l'Union européenne 2005

URL (adresse web) : http://www.eu2005.lu/fr/presidence/la_presidence/rotation_presidence/

Retour vers la page d'origine

La rotation de la Présidence

La Présidence du Conseil de l'Union européenne est organisée sur la base d'un système de rotation semestrielle. Chaque État membre préside successivement l’Union européenne pour une période de 6 mois. L'exercice de la présidence constitue à la fois un devoir et une contribution particulière de chaque État membre au bon fonctionnement des institutions communautaires. Dans l’Union des 15, un État membre exerçait la présidence tous les sept ans et demi.

Dans le cadre du volet institutionnel des négociations d'adhésion, il a été établi que l'ordre de rotation prévu entre les quinze anciens États membres sera maintenu jusqu'en 2006, afin de donner aux dix nouveaux membres un minimum de temps d'adaptation et de préparation avant d'assumer eux-mêmes la présidence du Conseil.

Le Luxembourg assume sa présidence au cours du 1er semestre 2005. Il sera suivi du Royaume-Uni à partir du 2e semestre 2005. L’Autriche et la Finlande termineront ce cycle en 2006, puisqu’une fois que le traité établissant une Constitution pour l’Europe sera ratifié par les 25, ce système de présidence sera appelé à évoluer.

Le traité établissant une Constitution pour l’Europe, qui doit encore être ratifié, prévoit que le Conseil siège en plusieurs formations. Le Conseil européen sera présidé par un président élu pour deux ans et demi par le Conseil européen qui représentera l’Union européenne à l’extérieur pour les matières relatives à la politique étrangère et de sécurité commune. Le Conseil des Affaires étrangères sera présidé par un ministre des Affaires étrangères nommé par le Conseil européen. La présidence des autres formations sera assurée par les représentants des États membres selon un système de rotation égale.



Dernière mise à jour de cette page le : 11-12-2004